Josh Burton Records First Super Truck Victory

Anderson dodged severe storms early on Saturday and another round just as races ended to stage an awesome racing program with 111 cars over flowing the pit area. Jason Dietsch captured the USA Modified Main while Josh Burton took the Phillippe Eco Water Systems Super Truck headliner, T.J. Sneva his second Legend feature in as many nights, Matt Tharp in the ThunderCar Figure 8 and Joe Walters in the ThunderCar Oval. 

In Modified prelims, Dietsch also captured the six-lap dash for cash beating Brian Nester and Scott Neal. Veteran Harold Scott took the checker in the heat winning over Mike Carroll and Mark Harrison.

Brad Springer grabbed the B-Main win with Scott Coe, Don Skaggs and L.J. Lines trailing. In the headliner, Dietsch started from the point with plenty of company the entire distance of this 50-lap event. A Record 32 entrants were present. Carroll started extreme pressure on Dietsch about mid way in the race.

Neal, who started 11th, began his trek on the outside and pulled along side Rodney Scott to grab third  with 12 laps to go. Neal got loose and sank back to fourth  but regained third  two laps later. He then challenged Carroll and took over second with five to go. Traffic was extremely heavy for Dietsch but Neal could not find the room for the pass as the top three finished under the blanket. It was Dietsch the victor over Neal, Carroll, Rodney Scott and Bill Sink.

Super Truck action saw Brian Lemmer cop the coins in the first heat defeating Josh Burton and Jack Dossey Jr. Mark Jennings was the second heat winner over Todd Neal and Derrick Layne. Jack Dossey, Jr. had the afterburners on the distance but the heat was no enough to dislodge Burton from taking his first win of the year over Dossey, Bret Miles, Lemmer and Brent Busby.

In Legend action it was Rusty Frady flag to flag in heat No. 1 over James Robertson and Greg Dietzen. Travis Tincher mowed down the competition in the second heat defeating Paul Holden and Homer Adams Jr.

T.J. Sneva, through the luck of the inversion draw started on the point and never relinquished it in the feature. A scary incident on lap six brought the red flag. Greg Dietzen had popped the wall out of turn 2 slowing his mount. As he was trying to go to the low side of the track on the main chute, Ed Black hit and then vaulted over Dietzen sending Black's machine violently flipping several times. Black was ok although his car was badly damaged. Trailers were Jesse Smith, Robertson, Brian Downey and Bill Cribbs.

The ThunderCar Figure 8 lived up to its reputation with some breath taking near misses in the crossover. Matt Tharp came from 11th starting position to take the point at the midway point not to be headed. Chasers were Josh Tharp, Mike Peters, Tim Brown and Jim Brown.

An awesome 29-car field took the green flag in the ThunderCar Oval with two and three abreast common throughout the race. Joe Walters came on strong to get around Bub Beachboard as they battled for the lead splitting around slower cars and going three abreast. They had the fans on their feet. It was Walters taking the win over Beachboard, Jesse Vibbert, Matt Tharp and Brandon Leisure. Walters dedicated the win to his wife Glenda for their 25th anniversary.

The Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drives also saw a great three-car battle for the win. David McHenry led flag to flag but David Baker and George Baker Jr. came on late to challenge with McHenry winning by a length over David Baker, George Baker, Jr.,  Larry Thomas and Scott Roberts.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.