Weston, Phifer, Peters, Walters and McHenry Win Spring Championships

Awesome racing in the WLBC Summer Series once again thrilled the fans Friday evening for the Spring Championships at the Anderson Speedway with Sarasota, Florida's Jeff Weston taking the Ed Martin Automotive Group win while young lion Bryan Phifer of Kokomo captured the Legend Feature and Fortville's David McHenry won the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive Headliner. Anderson drivers dominated ThunderCar racing with Mike Peters surviving for the ThunderCar Figure 8 win while Joe Walters made it two in a row in the Oval.

Jeff Weston used a straight up inversion draw to his advantage to take his second feature win in three weeks and capture the Spring Championship. The 2000 track champ made it look easy leading the distance over defending champ Mark Harrison, Randy Anderson, Joe Jennings and Don Skaggs. Skaggs copped the heat win over Anderson and Jennings. Weston was fast qualifier at 12.911 seconds.

With the 26-car field half inverted, Brian Phifer came from ninth starting position to win the Spring Championship, but it was not an easy trip to the victory. The first of three yellows flew on lap 14 when point leader T.J. Sneva was attempting a pass on the outside only to run out of real estate and rip a wheel off. At the same time leader Jay McFall had his mount break vaulting McGinley into the lead.  That was short lived as a hard charging Phifer grabbed the lead the next lap. The yellow flew again on laps 22 & 27 for separate 3 car tangles. 

Phifer was able to avoid it all for the win over Renner, McGinley, Dave Frady and defending champ Homer Adams Jr. Greg Dietzen took heat No. 1 with a white flag pass defeating Rusty Frady and Jay McFall. Paul Holden took his first win in heat No. 2 besting Dave Frady and John Robbins. TJ Sneva was once again fastest at 14.048 seconds.

In Chappy's Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive action, David McHenry came from the back of the pack to battle with Patrick Spillis side by side for the lead for three laps before taking the point at the white flag. McHenry went on to the Spring Championship and the No. 1 position in the point standings. Trailers were Sam Banta, Kevin Rhodus, Larry Thomas and Scott Roberts.

It was slam bang city in the ThunderCar Oval, but some had to pay the price for the slams. Thirty cars took the green with side-by-side racing the norm in this one.

Shawn Garner tangled with Jonathon Pitts at the beginning with Pitts taking out revenge on Garner under the yellow and receiving a DQ while Garner was relegated to the tail.

Roy Grissom Sr., who started 21st, got a little aggressive as he worked through the pack and made heavy contact James Peterson who was running second. Grissom also traveled to the tail. Joe Walters, who started 22nd, took the lead with five laps to go and was able to survive the slam fest to take his second win in a row and the Spring Championship over Peterson, Donnie Ellis Jr.,  A.J. Jones and Jesse Vibbert.

The ThunderCar Figure 8 was the wildest one of the year so far. Wild William Coffman took the lead at the green and it was like a pressure cooker with several drivers challenging Coffman. On the fourth go-around,  Mike Peters tangled with Roy Ellis sending Peters to the pit for repairs and to the tail on the restart.

The last five laps of the 20-lap affair were incredible. Bub Beachboard, James Peterson and Roy Grissom Sr. were putting the heat on Coffman big time. With five to go Ellis broke, then Coffman broke with three laps left putting Peterson into the lead.

No sooner had that happened than Peterson's hood popped up. Beachboard was ready to strike but tangled with Grissom, which gave Grissom a flat at the white flag. When the exciting last lap had ended, it was Mike Peters taking the win. Josh Tharp came from seven to second in the last two laps, they were followed by Peterson, Ranny Hinton and Tim Brown.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.