Miles, Chapman and Cullen Are Spring Champions

A cool night and perfect track conditions helped set the stage for falling records and awesome racing in the Phillippe Eco Water Systems Spring Championships Saturday evening at the Anderson Speedway.

Muncie's Bret Miles captured the Phillippe Eco Water Super Truck headliner while Anderson aces Curtis Chapman and Shawn Cullen took the checkers in the Terry's RV and Fabulous Figure 8 mains respectively. Additionally, all three division's track records fell by the wayside.

In Super Truck action, Joe Beaver and Miles were the front-row starters via the inversion draw. Miles was able to power away from Beaver at the start of the feature. The yellow flew quickly on lap four when Derrick Layne had the rear end of his machine break sending slamming into the turn 1 wall.

The race slowed on lap 17 when Andrew Brown spun and again on lap 40 when Josh Burton and Brian Lemmer tangled on the backstretch. Some under the yellow antics ensued and both drivers were disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct.

This set the stage for a five-lap shootout to the finish with Miles taking the Spring Championship over Beaver, Jack Dossey Jr., Brent Busby and Tony Broyles.

Brian Hopkins led the distance in heat No. 1 over Broyles and Dossey. Buddy Davis led the first eight laps of second heat race before fading at the end. Brian Lemmer copped the coins over Todd Neal and Layne. Beaver set a new track record of 13.571 seconds.

Some 26 cars took the green flag in the Terry's RV Street Stock headliner with Curtis Chapman on the pole thanks to an inversion draw of half of the field. The first of three yellow flew early on lap six when Chris Hanna's mount failed and was trapped on the high side of the track.

Four cars tangled on lap 17 sending David Woesner, Bruce McFall, Neil Huddleston and Jake Owens to the pits. By this point, Rich Boyer had moved into the chief chasing position and was putting the pressure on Chapman.

The final slowdown was on lap 25 for the crash of Jeff Powers and Chris Hanna. The final five circuits were awesome with Boyer trying everything to get around Chapman but in the end it was "Superman" flying to the Spring Championship victory edging out Boyer, Terry Burton, Kevin Montgomery and Danny Acrey, II.

Rod Phipps led the entire distance in heat No. 1 defeating Boyer and Darwin Blankenship. An exciting second heat race saw three different leaders. Donnie Butler led the first three go rounds before being headed by Mike Frederick. Jeff Powers made a last lap pass to edge out Frederick and Butler. Rich Boyer lowered his track record to 14.355 seconds.

The Fabulous Figure 8 was just that, fabulous. The field was totally inverted from the draw. Cullen started from the point and it quickly became a dogfight with Cullen and Joe Hart Jr.

At the midway point of this 25-lap event, not only were Cullen and Hart swapping the top spot on three times in four laps but they were facing near disaster in the cross-over. On lap 15, Hart and Mark Goettman decided to test the intersection and you guessed it, crash time.

Both were ok but badly mangles cars were the end result. Cullen re-took the point and led to the checker over Doug Sheets, Curtis Chapman, Rickie Tharp and Bobby Long.

Hart captured the first heat over Mike Phipps and Chapman while Cullen was the victor of heat No. 2 over James Peterson and Billy Palmer. Ronnie Rose set a new figure 8 course record of 20.410 seconds.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.