Dossey, Jordan, Chapman and Robertson Have a Hoot at Anderson

It was Hooters Night at the Races Saturday evening at the Anderson Speedway with a special appearance of the Hooters Girls. Jack Dossey Jr., Jim Jordan Jr., Curtis Chapman and Allen Roberts had a hoot capturing the Phillippe Eco Water Super Truck, Terry's RV Street Stock, Figure 8 and Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive features respectively. Over 90 cars jammed the pits for great fields in all divisions.

Half of the field was inverted for the 40-lap Super Truck feature with Tony Broyles jumping to the lead from outside the front row. Rob Hazelbaker and Dossey quickly took up the chase with Dossey nudging by Hazelbaker on lap three for second place. Hazelbaker dogged Broyles until a bobble cost Broyles the lead on lap 10.

The yellow flew on lap 14 for a tangle between Brent Busby and Bret Miles. Joe Beaver was also involved and was eliminated. With Busby and Miles to the rear, the race resumed. With the white flag ready to be displayed, Hazelbaker, Broyles and Dossey had a battle raging up front. All of a sudden, Broyles mount broke sending liquid all over the place. At the same time, Miles, who had came back to fourth was tagged by Busby and then Josh Burton also tangled with Miles to bring a yellow.

This flurry of action set up a two lap dash to the checker. Upon the return to green, Dossey returned the earlier nudge of Hazelbaker and took the lead and win over Hazelbaker, Todd Neal, Buddy Davis and Robert Lemen.

Broyles took the first heat over Hazelbaker and Burton while Neal took heat No. 2 defeating Davis and Mike Mendenhall. Miles was fast qualifier at 13.683 seconds.

Some 28 Street Stocks started the 25-lap headliner with the top four inverted. Darwin Blankenship took command at the green from the pole. Jim Jordan Jr. assumed the hounding chores and stayed right with Blankenship through heavy traffic. Blankenship was looking strong until all of a sudden on lap 14 his car suddenly veered into the Turn 4 wall and glanced off.

This ended Blankenship's night and handed the lead to Jordan. Rich Boyer tried Jordan high and low but the Fortville ace was not to be denied his first win of the year. Trailers were Boyer, Danny Acrey, II; Terry Burton and Johnny Magee.

Terry Burton captured heat No. 1 over Rod Phipps and Curtis Chapman. Donnie Butler took the win in second heat defeating Bruce McFall and Robin Burton. Boyer was fast qualifier at 14.420 seconds.

The fabulous Figure 8 was just that, fabulous. Some 22 cars took the green flag in the 20-lap event. The inversion was straight up and it was fast qualifier Bobby Long grabbing the lead at the get-go.

Long was doing well, leading the field through some hair raising moments at the crossover. Long saw his mount fail on lap six handing the lead to Chapman. Curtis and Johnny Magee took up a battle that had fans on their feet and had Magee into the lead two laps later.

Nothing stopped them at the intersection, missing cars by just inches. Magee took the white flag. He came off of Turn 2 and a slower car trapped him. Chapman and Magee exchanged paint in a raging battle to get around the slower car.

Chapman was the victor of the battle and the winner of the race. A post-race altercation resulted in Magee being disqualified for unsportsmanlike conduct. Following Chapman were Ricky Tharp, Mike Phipps, Jason Pitts and Mike Perry.

Joe Hart Jr. took the first heat checker over Ronnie Phipps and Ricky Tharp. Roy Grissom Jr. took heat No. 2 honors over Terry Malone, Sr and Billy Palmer. Long was fastest at 20.523 seconds.

The Front Wheel Drives were added to the program due to the rainout of the previous night. Their headliner saw Darryl Rogers on top the first four laps before Allen Roberts and Rogers made contact with Rogers to the infield and Roberts to the lead.

Roberts handled the competition, taking the checker over Patrick Spillis, Big Al Gabel, Bobby Tucker and Scott Roberts.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.