Jennings, Robertson, Peterson, Teepe, Jennings and Baker Top Anderson Speedway Action

For the third consecutive week, thunderstorms plagued the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series at the Anderson Speedway, but as the old saying goes the show must go on.

Daleville's Bull Baker captured the pole for the Anderson 400 in Sunoco Super Series pole qualifying while Richmond's Joe Jennings took the Ed Martin Automotive Group Modified feature. Indianapolis' James Robertson won the Legend main while Anderson's Chris Teepe and Centerville's Jessica Jennings were the hot shoes in the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive headliners and Anderson's James Peterson and Mike Peters were victors in the ThunderCar Oval and the ThunderCar Figure 8.

Bull Baker toured the quarter-mile in 12.101 seconds at 74.374 mph to put his Car Brite/Stoops/Cooper Tire Chevrolet on the pole for the prestigious Anderson 400 for the second consecutive year.

 Rounding out the top five were Michigan's Andy Ponstein, Jeff Lane, Joel Kauffman and the fastest rookie Tom Hernly, Jr. Twenty-nine competitors will battle for 400 grueling laps for the $10,000 to win payday Saturday evening.

Due to a heavy thunderstorm, current point standings were used for line up purposes in all divisions. Heat races were also scraped from the program.

In the Ed Martin Modifieds, Joe Jennings took the lead at the get-go. Defending point champ Mark Harrison hounded Jennings and in the late going of the 30 lapper even had Jennings cross wise a couple of time. Jennings was not to shaken from the lead and went on to record his second win of the year over Harrison, the 2000 point champ Jeff Weston, 1999 National Incar Champ L.J. Lines and Randy Anderson.

Mark Sullivan jumped off to sizeable lead in the Legend feature only to see that disappear on lap six when Aaron Habig and Ron Tiller crashed in Turn 2. Upon the return to green, James Robertson, who started fourth, put the heat on Sullivan trying him high and low.

On lap 11, Sullivan's mount slid high in the corner and Robertson was able to jet by to take command. Robertson went on to record his second consecutive win over Sullivan, Scott McGinley, Eric Black and Darrell Lee Brown. 

Twenty-eight cars took the green flag in the ThunderCar Oval feature. James Peterson jumped to the early lead and Joe Walters adhered to his bumper as the duo battled in and out of traffic, sometimes side by side.

Walters trapped Peterson in traffic and took control on lap eight. Walters tangled with a slower car on lap 14 puncturing his tire and taking him out of competition. Peterson regained the lead and went on to the victory over Tim Dick, A.J. Jones, Roy Grissom, Sr and Shane Cullen.

In the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drives, tremendous car count again forced two features. Sixteen-year-old Jessica Jennings took the lead at the green and led the distance in the 15-lap affair becoming the first gal to win a Front Wheel Drive event This was also her first career win. Trailers were Bill Greene, Kevin Rhodus, Cale Ramey and Jessica's cousin Chris Jennings.

Elliott McKinney and Dustin Tomlinson were early leaders in feature No. 2 before Chris Teepe took over the top spot on lap three. Teepe sailed on the victory over Tomlinson, Randy Owen, Shantell Banks and Larry Shrock.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.