Curtis Chapman Times Two at Anderson

"Superman" flew to back to back wins Saturday evening on Hollon's Pharmacy Action Night at the Anderson Speedway as Anderson ace Curtis Chapman captured the Terry's RV Street Stock feature, then jumped into his Figure 8 car and came home victorious in the Figure 8 headliner.

Indianapolis' Jack Dossey Jr. survived a rough night in the Phillippe Eco Water Super Trucks to take the win while Anderson's Chris Teepe won the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive main for the second consecutive night.

In Super Truck action, it appeared like it was "National Hit Each Other Night" as the 40-lap feature was marred by one red and four yellow flags. The race had a complete restart when nine trucks stacked in Turns 1 and 2 on the start.

Five trucks were eliminated including Joe Beaver, Brian Hopkins, Mark Jennings, Rodney Fout Jr. and Dave Brown. The race restarted only to see the yellow on lap two when Bob Lemen and Andrew Brown tangled with both spinning.

Todd Neal led the first two laps before Mike Mendenhall took over the point. Dossey started working on the tailgate of Mendenhall on lap six and made the outside pass to take over the top spot on lap 17. Four trucks were involved in a multiple spin on lap 24 all of which restarted.

Two laps later Rob Hazelbaker and Neal slammed together bringing the final yellow. Dossey went on to the win with Brent Busby about a length behind at the checker. Finishing third through fifth were Bret Miles, Josh Burton and Buddy Davis.

Neal led flag to flag in the first heat beating Dossey and Hopkins. Andrew Brown and Derrick Layne each led a third of heat two but Davis led the third that counted to score the win over Lemen and Andrew Brown. Fast qualifier was Beaver with a 13.887 clocking.

In the Terry's RV Street Stocks, a clean, hard fought race had the fans on their feet the last half of the 25-lap event. Jerry Rigney led the opening two laps with Kevin Montgomery then taking the point.

Curtis Chapman moved in on the back bumper of Montgomery by lap seven. Chapman hung with Montgomery in and out of traffic. On lap 17,  the only yellow flew when Robin Burton and Rod Phipps locked bumpers and ended up crossways in Turn 2.

Upon the restart, things really heated up. Montgomery and Chapman exchanged the lead every time a slower car was involved sending the fans into a frenzy. They split around a slower car at the white flag with Chapman going into the lead only to see Montgomery regain the lead in the next corner. Chapman made one slick move on Montgomery with two corners to go and came home the winner.

Trailing were Montgomery, Jim Jordan Jr., Rich Boyer and Terry Burton. Montgomery and Darwin Blankenship battled for the lead in heat No. 1 before locking horns. Chapman took control not to be headed. Following were Chris Hanna and Robin Burton.

JD Blankenship, Donnie Butler and Gary Moore were all leaders in heat No. 2 with Moore the leader when it counted taking the checker over Butler and Tony Cartwright. Terry Burton was fast timer at 14.358 seconds.

With the Figure 8 cars preparing for the 53rd Annual National Crown, some 25 cars took the green flag in tonight's feature. The draw was straight up and that set the stage with Ronnie Rose and Curtis Chapman on the front row.

From the drop of the green flag, the battle raged for 20 of the wildest laps of crossover action we have seen for some time. The only crash occurred on lap 15 when Michael Phipps found himself sitting part way in the crossover, waiting on traffic. Bub Beachboard had gone wide coming off the corner and nailed Phipps' machine. At the same time, Tim Tomlinson nailed the end of the wall at the pit gate. All drivers were ok.

When the green returned the battle continued with Rose and Chapman sometimes exchanging the lead twice or three times on the same lap. Rose even led at the white flag but Chapman, for the second race in a row, made another slick move and slid past Rose for his third win of the year.

Post race, Chapman issued a challenge to Rose for the National Crown since he also has three wins on the season. Chasers were Ronnie Phipps, Joe Hart Jr. and Mike Perry.

Jeff Swinford took the first heat over Shawn Cullen and James Peterson. In heat No. 2, Doug Sheets took his first checker of the year defeating Harold O'Bryant and Mike Cain. Fast timer was Rose at 30.358 seconds.

In the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drives, Chris Teepe kept the Indians all contained as he hid out on the range to take his second win in as many nights defeating David Baker, Chris Jennings, Patrick Spillis and Darryl Rogers.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.