Hopkins, Boyer, Tharp and King at Anderson

New Castle's Brian Hopkins made it two in a row Saturday evening at the Anderson Speedway capturing the Phillippe Eco Water Systems Super Truck feature on EMAS Community Night at the Races.

Anderson's Rich Boyer continues his mission winning the Terry's RV Street Stock headliner while Anderson's Ricky Tharp survived the Figure 8 headliner and Bill King was the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive main master. Early rains made for a lot of extra wild action.

Brian Hopkins started from the point in the Super Truck feature, courtesy of the inversion. The first slowdown came on lap 17 when Buddy Davis looped his truck in Turn 2. Heavy duty racing went on behind Hopkins the distance with trucks swapping positions several times.

Bret Miles and Mike Mendenhall got together to bring out the second caution. Hopkins was never seriously challenged and went on to record his second consecutive feature win over Jack Dossey Jr.,  Brent Busby, Rob Hazelbaker and Joe Beaver.

The evening started with a serious looking crash. Bret Miles and Josh Burton tangled in Turn 4 on lap two of the first heat. Burton's truck slammed the pit entrance on the drivers side. Anderson Rescue was called and Burton was back boarded out. Burton later returned to the track sore, but ok.

Beaver took the win over Busby and Dossey. Robert Lemon took the second heat win by three feet defeating Todd Neal and Derrick Layne. Busby was fast qualifier at 13.782 seconds.
In Street Stock action, Rich Boyer continued his quest to win a point championship for his late father. Boyer started ninth in a half inverted field with Curtis Chapman the early leader.

Jake Owens and Darwin Blankenship ran consistently up front, but it was Boyer who took it to the outside and to the front at the halfway point. From there on the race belonged to Rich Boyer. Trailers were Owens, Blankenship, Danny Acrey, II and Bruce McFall.

 Boyer took the lead at the white fag in heat No. 1 to cop the coins over Chapman and Terry Burton. J.D. Blankenship led the first half of the second heat race before being headed by his father Darwin. Darwin Blankenship took the win over Kevin Brooks and Jeff Powers. Terry Burton was fast qualifier at 14.374 seconds.

Mike Phipps led the Figure 8 feature from the start with Ricky Tharp glued to his bumper. They challenged all comers at the intersection with several near misses and some hair raising close calls. Coming down for the white flag Phipps spun coming off Turn 4 with Tharp inheriting the lead and going on for the win.

Following were Ronnie Rose, Mike Riddle Jr. and Doug Sheets. Mike Phipps led the fast heat flag to flag to win over Tharp and Mike Perry while Ronnie Phipps took the checkers in heat No. 2 defeating Riddle and John Goforth.Bobby Long was fast qualifier at 20.629 seconds.

In the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drives, Larry Shrock was the early leader before he and Tony Bargo made contact. Bargo made the inside pass and took the lead at lap six to go on for the win. Bargo failed technical inspection for an illegal tire. Bill King took the win over Elliott McKinney.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.