Ranny Hinton Wins and Wins

Ranny Hinton was the man to beat in ThunderCar racing in the MAX/WLBC Summer Series as the Anderson ace captured both the ThunderCar Figure 8 and ThunderCar Oval Headliners.

Carmel's Ryan Cawley took his first Ed Martin Automotive Group Modified feature of the year while Hickson, Tennessee's Kayne Hickman was a surprise winner in the Legend Main. Anderson's David Baker copped the first Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive feature while fellow Anderson driver Sam Folsom took his first career Front Wheel Drive win in feature No. 2.

Ryan Cawley jumped to an early lead in the Modified feature and made it look easy as he was never seriously challenged in the 30-lap event. At times Cawley led by halfway lap, but Jeff Weston was able to reduce that lead to about three car lengths at the end after getting stuck in traffic early. Rounding out the top five were Joe Jennings, Chip Dowell and Jamie Hadley.

Cawley also took the heat win trailed by Mark Harrison and Hadley. Harrison was fast timer at 13.004 seconds.

In Legend action, the feature started off with a bang as all three Dietzens went sailing in Turn 1 on the start. A complete restart was ordered. Lap 13 saw the yellow for a tangle between Daniel Russell, Wally Kosicki and Clark Dietzen. The yellow reappeared a lap later for the spin of John Stutsman.

Tommy Jordan and Hickman locked into battle beginning on lap 11. Jordan's rear bumper became loose and started dragging the track with five laps to go while he was leading.  Jordan was black flagged to comply with INEX rules but did not acknowledge the black flag. Rather than finish the race in this situation, the Anderson Speedway race director ordered a yellow on lap 22 to get Jordan out of the race.

Hickman took over the point at this time and went on to the victory over Mike Satkowiak, Scott McGinley, Craig Haack and Eric Black.

Jordan took the lead from Black in the fast heat with three laps to go to take the checker over Black and Haack. The gal beat the guys in heat No. 2 as Leann Russell copped the coins defeating her Brother Daniel Russell and John Robbins.

Mike Coop went flag to flag in heat No. 3 for the win over Wally Kosicki and Jared Reinacker. Hickman set the all time track record in a Legend with a 13.885 second clocking.

In ThunderCar racing it was Brandon Leisure jumping to the lead in the Oval from the get-go. On lap 16 there was a multi-car pileup in Turn 2 right in front of the leaders. Leisure was being pressured big time by Ranny Hinton with Leisure crashing into the melee.

The end result was a busted radiator on Leisure and an over heating car. Hinton took control on the restart and went on to the win over Josh Tharp, Joe Walters, Jack Taylor and Tim Mullins.

Hinton took the lead in the ThunderCar Figure 8 on the start. Tim Brown settled in behind Hinton and the battle was on. The crossover looked like rush hour. Coming down for the checker Tim Brown was trying to make the pass on Hinton.

Hinton had to go through the intersection at a less than desirable time with Tim Nickerson hitting Hinton. Hinton's car went sliding sideways but went across the line just ahead of Tim Brown.  Rounding out the top five were Steve Weaver, Tony Hart and Jim Brown.  

In Front Wheel Drive action, a complete restart was ordered in feature No. 1 when three cars piled up on the backstretch. Darryl Rogers jumped to the early lead before being passed by Larry Shrock on lap nine. Coming down for the white flag, David Baker made a move to the lead. Baker almost had disaster strike when, as he was coming into Turn 3 for the checker, his hood popped up blocking his view! He guessed the rest of the way and took the win barely over David McHenry, Shrock, point leader Chris Jennings and Larry Thomas Jr.

Sam Folsom used his pole position to jump to an early lead. The race was red-flagged early when Steve Blevins rolled it over. He was ok. Folsom continued on his way to his first career win over Elliott McKinney, Randy Owen, Bill King and Andy Jennings.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.