Hurricane Hickman Takes Grant Fritz Memorial

Known as the "Tennessee Tornado", Kayne Hickman, Hickson, Tennessee's 15 year-old Legend sensation, was more powerful than a hurricane as he took his second feature victory in as many nights by winning the prestigious Grant Fritz Memorial Saturday evening at the Anderson Speedway.

Anderson's Rob Hazelbaker made it two in a row in the Phillippe Eco Water Super Trucks while New Castle's Danny Acrey II took his first Terry's RV Street Stock headliner of the year. Anderson's Darryl Rogers captured his first career win in the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drives.

Hickman, who started from the pole in this 100-lap event, dominated a spectacular Legend event which saw 30 cars take the green flag. Hickman took down the all time Legend track record Friday evening with a 13.885 second clocking and came home a surprised winner when Hartsville, South Carolina's Tommy Jordan was black flagged from the lead with three laps to go for losing a bumper.

This seemed to set the stage for the Saturday win and made the "Tornado" even more determined to win the Grant Fritz. The race did not get off to a good start as five cars stacked in Turn 3 on lap one eliminating Paul Holden, Aaron Habig, Leann Russell and Mark Dietzen.

Former track record holder Craig Haack took up the chief chaser chores and never left the back bumper of Hickman. Tremendous battles raged throughout the pack in a race that was slowed four more times for minor spins and tangles. An excited Kayne Hickman took his first Grant Fritz over Haack, Mike Satkowiak, Scott McGinley, Mark Sullivan, Mike Hamilton, Eric Black, Homer Adams, Jr; Ron Tiller and Tommy Jordan on the lead lap.

A total inversion draw in the Super Truck feature made for another awesome 40-lap battle. Once again this week there were four lead changes. 

Andrew Brown was the early point man before being headed by Todd Neal on lap three. Neal, being chased by Derrick Layne, saw Layne slide by on lap 18 when Neal drifted high in Turn #.

Hazelbaker followed in pursuit and went into second. The only yellow flew on lap 19 when Brent Busby spun and stalled in Turn 2. A great side by side duel raged between Layne and Hazelbaker on the restart with the two touching, Layne bobbling slightly and Hazelbaker taking control on lap 21 not to be headed.

Trailing were Layne, in his best career Super Truck finish, point leader Bret Miles, Jack Dossey Jr. and Joe Beaver. Dossey led the distance in the fast heat over Hazelbaker and Brian Hopkins. Three drivers led heat No. 2 with Neal the victor over Layne and Mike Mendenhall. Busby was fast timer at 13.670 seconds.

Danny Acrey II has been searching all season for that illusive feature but left no doubt in the Street Stock headliner as he started on the front courtesy of the inversion and never looked back. The top five ran nose to tail the distance with Acrey to victory lane over Jake Owens, point leader Rich Boyer, Terry Burton and Darwin Blankenship who sneaked by Jason Pitts at the checker after Pitts suddenly slowed.

In practice Melissa Winegar spun with Mike Hopkins hitting her head-on trashing both cars. Terry Burton was also involved. He got into Robin Burton's car and set fast time for the eighth week in a row at 14.417 seconds.

Prelim action saw Curtis Chapman lead flag to flag in heat No. 1 over Pitts and Kevin Montgomery. JD Blankenship and Gary Moore tangled on lap five in heat No. 2 vaulting Bruce McFall to the lead and win over Dennis Moser and Jerry Rigney. 

Twenty cars started the wild, slam-bang Front Wheel Drive feature. Virgil Patterson jumped to the lead but Darryl Rogers made quick work of Patterson taking over the point on lap two. Rogers sailed on for his first career win defeating David Baker, Elliott McKinney, Randy Owen and point leader Chris Jennings.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.