Cawley, Robertson, Leisure, Peterson, Baker and Sites Visit Winner's Circle

In superb weather conditions at the world’s fastest quarter mile, Anderson Speedway showcased one of the best MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series’ of the 2003 season on Friday, September 12.

Ryan Cawley won a thrilling 30-lap ED Martin Automotive Group Modified feature with 14-year old rookie James Robertson completing a late-race pass to score the Legends trophy. Brandon Leisure celebrated the ThunderCar oval feature victory with James Peterson winning the ThunderCar Figure 8. Jerry Baker dominated the first Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive feature with Ohio racer Jamie Sites winning the second feature.

From his outside front row starting position, Bruce Cooper grabbed the top spot at the beginning of the ED Martin Automotive Group Modifieds feature. In the early stages, Cooper felt pressure from Marshall Emberton.

On the sixth circuit, fourth-place runner Jeff Weston made slight contact with third Chip Dowell, forcing Dowell to spin his machine in Turn 3 and forcing both competitors to start from the rear of the field. When the green flag reappeared, Ryan Cawley with a bump and run got by the second place machine of Emberton.

awley then set his sights on race leader Cooper. On the 13th circuit, the battle for the victory heated up tremendously. Cawley, utilizing the outside groove, drove around Cooper to take over leadership honors on lap 16. The conclusion of the event, Cawley pulled away for the victory. Harold Scott finished in second, after passing Emberton on the final lap. Emberton was third with Mark Harrison and Weston filling out the top-five finishers. Cawley and Cooper were winners of the heat races with Scott earning the fast time.

Daniel Russell darted into the lead position as the Legends 25-lap feature event went green. He paced the field the opening eight circuits with point’s leader Eric Black advancing to the top of the leader board in the first portion of the event. On the ninth lap, Black bypassed Russell taking command of the field. Black showed the way until lap 22, when rookie sensation James Robertson drove underneath Black taking the first position.

At the checkers, Robertson sailed to the victory with Black holding on for second and Al Renner making a late-race charge to finish third. Ron Tiller crossed the line in fourth with John Robbins grabbing fifth-place honors. Clark Dietzen and John Robbins won heat races with Robertson posting the fastest time in qualifications.

Anderson competitor Brandon Phillips, from his pole starting position, led the opening laps in the 20-lap Thunder Car oval feature. On the third circuit, Lonnie Burton grabbed the first position, but mechanical problems two laps later ended his racing action.

This handed Phillips the first position for the second occasion. The remainder of the event, he tried to fend off challenges from Brandon Leisure. By the ninth lap, Phillips approached lap traffic and Leisure pulled on the rear deck lid of the race leader. On the 17th circuit, the lapped car of Sammy Hawkins spun on the backstretch and Phillips couldn’t avoid contact, causing the leader front-end damage.
Leisure assumed the first position leading the final three circuits to win the event. Jack Taylor finished second with Bill Lawson in third. Joe Walters placed fourth with Josh Tharp finishing in fifth position.

James Peterson dominated the 15-lap Thunder Car figure 8 event, leading all 15 circuits. In the opening laps, Peterson held off Dave Stanley. Then on the fifth lap, Stanley dropped from the top of the running order after spinning his car. The second half of the event, Josh Tharp applied pressure to leader Peterson in the action-packed event. Peterson held off all challengers scoring the win. Tharp finished second with Mike Peters, Ranny Hinton and Tim Brown comprising the top-five finishers.

Getting the best of a battle with Bill Greene, propelled Jerry Baker to the winner’s circle in the first Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive feature. Baker grabbed the lead at the wave of the green flag, with Greene up front on lap 10. Baker returned to the first position on lap 12, leading the remainder of the event. Carroll Beeman finished in second with Greene, Chris Teepe and Kevin Rhodus completing the top-five performers.

Jamie Sites drove to the victory in the second Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive feature. As Sites was cruising to the win the best battle on the track was for second spot between Elliott McKiney and Andy Jennings. At the finish, Sites crossed the line first chased by McKiney, Jennings, Randy Owen and Rodney McKinsey.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.