Fields, Hickman, Hinton, Peterson, Owen and Folsom Fly at Anderson

Former track champion Bobby Fields of Carthage returned after a long absence to capture the Limited Late Model feature Friday evening at the Anderson Speedway in the MAX/WLBC Summer Series.

Hickson, Tennesse's Kayne Hickman returned to pick up where he left off in the Legend main taking his second straight win. Anderson's James Peterson and Ranny Hinton won the ThunderCar Oval and Figure 8 Features while Randy Owen and Sam Folsom of Anderson copped the coins in the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive headliners.

Even though Bobby Fields led the Limited Late Model feature flag to flag, Jon Conklin had Fields sideways more times than we could count. The battle was tremendous as Jason Fullen made it a three-car battle in the 30-lap event.

Following Fields to the checker were Fullen, Conklin, Todd Marsh and Scott Hinshaw. Fields also took the fast heat honors over Conklin and Mike Riddle Jr. Mike Neal landed heat No. 2 over Fullen and Scott Hinshaw. Riddle was fast timer at 13.016 seconds.

The Legends put on an awesome performance with three different leaders in the 25-lap main. The field was half inverted via the draw. Al Renner jumped to the early lead before being headed by Ron Tiller on lap 11.

Tiller tried to hold on but got blown away by the Tennessee Tornado.  Kayne Hickman started 10th and went to the point on lap 18. Hickman was able to open to five lengths at the end over Tiller, Renner, Homer Adams Jr. and Eric Black.

Tiller took it flag to flag in the fast heat over Renner and Black. Clark Dietzen took his second heat win in a row defeating Darrell Lee Brown and John Robbins. James Robertson was fast qualifier at 13.958 seconds.

Paris Swallows looked like a winner in the ThunderCar Oval leading from the green until lap 17 of the 20 lap affair before he saw his mount break.

James Peterson pressured Swallows the distance going to the point and on to the win over Josh Tharp, Joe Walters, A.J. Jones and Tim Mullins.

Mullins led the ThunderCar Figure 8 from the get-go before losing the lead to Steve Weaver on lap three. Coming out of the last corner for the checker, Hinton pulled alongside of Weaver to challenge for the lead. The duo locked together coming off the corner and stayed that way all the way to the finish line. Weaver took the checker by six inches but lost it all when he was disqualified in tech handing the win to Hinton. Trailers were Mullins, Tim Brown, Mike Peters and Josh Tharp.

Finally, in the Front Wheel Drives, Randy Owen took his first career win although he had a big battle with Darryl Rogers. Rogers even took the lead for a lap on the fifth go-around.

Following third through fifth were Rhodus, Larry Thomas Jr. and Patrick Spillis. Sam Folsom was certainly not singing the blues in feature No. 2 as he copped the coins for his second win in a row over Peter Corsaro, Elliott McKinney, Tony Bargo and Andy Jennings. Rodney McKinsey took second place but was disqualified in tech.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.