Dossey, Acrey and Rose Capture Season Championship Features

 Indianapolis' Jack Dossey Jr. captured the Phillippe Eco Water Systems Super Truck Season Championship feature Saturday evening at the Anderson Speedway while New Castle's Danny Acrey II came away with the Terry's RV Street Stock Season Championship headliner and Anderson's Ronnie Rose dominated the Figure 8 Season Championship Main. Richmond's Chris Jennings won a hard fought Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive feature.

Championship night racing is always straight up with Dossey and Beaver starting from the point. It seemed as though that Dossey had too much for everyone on this night. Quite a battle raged in the pack for the 45-lap event with Fred Hopkins, Joe Beaver, Bret Miles and Josh Burton finishing second through fifth.

Hopkins also snagged the fast heat win after Mike Mendenhall was black flagged for being over his time. Trailing Hopkins were Dossey and Miles. Todd Neal celebrated his birthday with the heat No. 2 checkers defeating Rob Hazelbaker and Mark Jennings. Beaver set fast time at 13.715 seconds. Congratulations to Muncie's Bret Miles for being crowned the 2003 Phillippe Eco water Systems Super Truck Point Champion.

The Street Stock Feature saw several twists. Point Leader Rich Boyer and Terry Burton started from the pole in this 35 lapper. The race quickly became a battle between Burton and Boyer. Burton led from the get go with Boyer and Burton running side by side for the lead from laps 13 through 15.

On lap 17, Burton got a little too aggressive and spun Boyer bringing a yellow and sending both to the tail. This vaulted Danny Acrey II into the top spot. On the next lap, Boyer made heavy contact with Charlie Thomas with Thomas slamming the Turn 1 wall, badly damaging his car.

Boyer made a quick pit stop for repairs. When Boyer tried to re-enter the race, race officials denied him access to the track and further competition for the incident.

Acrey sailed on to the win defeating Robin Burton, Kevin Montgomery, Bruce McFall and Rob Hazelbaker. Congratulations goes to Rich Boyer, the 2003 Point Champion.

Hazelbaker took the lead at the half waypoint to cop the coins in the fast heat over Dennis Moser and Boyer. In heat No. 2, Ronnie Phipps was disqualified for over his time sending Rod Phipps to the checker over Chris Hanna and Gary Moore. Boyer was fast timer at 14.307 seconds. Gary Moore set a record for completing his 12th consecutive season without missing a single point race.

Ronnie Rose came in with only one thought and that was to win. And win he did in very convincing fashion going from flag to flag in the Figure 8. Not only did Rose take the Season Championship headliner but also brought home the 2003 Point Championship.

Trailing Rose in the feature was Ricky Tharp, Ronnie Phipps, Johnny Magee and Joe Hart Jr. Rose, who was a rookie in this division, was also named Rookie of the Year.

Rich Boyer led flag to flag to take the fast heat win over Ronnie Phipps and Mike Perry. Jeff Swinford grabbed the lead from Billy Palmer to go on to victory in heat No. 2 defeating Palmer and Shawn Cullen. Fast qualifier was Rose at 20.327 seconds.

The Front Wheel Drives put another fantastic show. Tony Grissom led from the green until being headed on lap six by George Baker Jr. Baker and Chris Jennings went into battle and some exciting side-by-side racing for the lead.

Chris Jennings made the pass successfully on lap 13 and took his fourth win of the year over George Baker, Jr; David Baker, Andy Jennings and Larry Thomas Jr.

Six drivers were under the old track record in qualifying with Elliott McKinney fastest at 16.592 seconds for the record.

The Friday night MAX/WLBC summer series finale was rained out has been re-scheduled for Friday, October 3, with the Modifieds, Legends and Front Wheel Drives in their Season Championships. The ThunderCars are also on the program with Oval and Figure 8 racing.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.