Rose Out-Duels Muffley Wins ThunderCar Enduro

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations Director

Click to View Results - Trackside Audio:  Ronnie Rose - David Baker

Anderson Speedway officially kicked off the 2007 racing season on March 31, with defending Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck champion Ronnie Rose scoring the $3,000 to win ThunderCar Enduro victory. Other winners included Tony Holden in the Newco Metals Legends, David Baker in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval and Travis Burge in the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s.

The 200-lap ThunderCar Enduro began with Rod Phipps, who earned the pole position, pacing the early circuits. Phipps then gave way to his teammate Rob Allman, who dominated the remainder of the first half. While Allman was setting a torrid pace, three-time Enduro winner Carl Muffley charged from his 28th starting position to a fourth place standing at halfway. At the 100-lap mark, a 10-minute halfway break took place that allowed teams to make adjustments prior to the final 100 circuits.

As the second half began, Allman was scored as the leader with Rose, Phipps and Muffley the only four cars of the 36 starters on the lead lap. Allman continued his strong performance during the second half, until he made contact with the outside wall that knocked him out of contention. He finished in 16th.

When Allman fell from first spot that handed the race lead to Rose. As Rose was showing the way, Muffley continued his march to the front and closed the gap on Rose during the final stages. With 25 laps remaining, the two leaders waged a heated battle for the victory. Muffley drove low under Rose in traffic exiting Turn 2 to grab the lead and then Rose returned the favor a few laps later. During the final exchange, Muffley suffered a flat tire.

Rose then held on during the final laps to score a one lap victory over Nick Warner with Muffley recovering to place third. Johnathon Pitts and Ranny Hinton rounded out the top-five finishers.

In the Newco Metals Legends feature, Greenfield’s Tony Holden began his season on a superb note, visiting the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circle. Ohio’s Bryan Nuckles darted into the first spot a the drop of the green flag and controlled much of the race until he and defending division champion Rodney Smith tangled with nine laps remaining.

Holden then inherited the first position on the restart and a charging Nuckles retook the first position a couple laps later. Race officials then penalized Nuckles for jumping the previous restart when the caution flag was displayed. Holden was then able to fend off late challenges from Nuckles for the victory. Mark Dietzen, Tyler Nuckles and Zack Germain rounded out the top five.

In the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval, Anderson’s David Baker turned in a dominant performance, finishing a half lap ahead of runner-up Tim Tharp. Third at the checkers was Lee Gossett with Lenny Thompson and Brian Lewis completing the top five.

Travis Burge scored a flag-to-flag victory in the 12-lap Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 race. Behind Burge at the finish were Warner, Thompson, William Ripberger and Pitts.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, April 7 with the Opening Points Night. Featured divisions include Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks, Figure 8’s and Newco Metals Legends.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.