Hinton Collects Initial Figure 8 Victory
Lemen, Owens and Phillips Also Win

By Kyle Larson
Public Relations Director

Click to View Results

Anderson Speedway returned to action on Saturday, May 12, with the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Figure 8ís, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Central Indiana Mini Cups.

Indianapolisí Bob Lemen continued his strong start to the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTruck season with winning the feature. Second-year driver Brandon Phillips led the opening 10 circuits with Lemen then sailing into first position. Once Lemen was out front, he was able to construct a sizeable lead over his closest challengers. At the finish, Andrew Brown placed second with Josh Poore in third position. Brian Lemmer and Scott Brooks rounded out the top five.

In preliminary action, Lemen and Phillips scored heat race wins. Ronnie Rose posted the best qualifying lap with an official clocking of 14.043 seconds.

The Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks made their season debut with Jake Owens scoring the 30-lap victory. Owens grabbed the lead on the second circuit after a two lap side by side duel with Ronnie Phipps. At the checkers, Owens grabbed the win over Lapelís Dennis Moser. Third was Danny Acrey ll with Rob Allman and Abe Puckett completing the top-five finishers.

Ronnie Phipps and Kyle Flynn recorded heat race victories. Acrey was the top qualifier at 14.347 seconds.

Scott Phillips made a late-race pass on Kyle Baugh to grab the winning hardware in the Central Indiana Mini Cups event. Third was Tim Phillips with Geoff Gerline and Charles Colbert filling out the top five.

In heat race action, Scott Phillips and Gerline won heat races. Baugh was the fast qualifier at 15.558 seconds.

Andersonís Ranny Hinton collected his initial Figure 8 feature victory. He led all 25 laps and withstood consistent challenges from eventual second-place finisher Josh Tharp and third place Ronnie Phipps. Fourth at the finish was Rod Phipps with John Goforth rounding out the top five.

In the 20-lap Oval heat race for the Figure 8ís, Andersonís Nick Warner earned a flag-to-flag victory. He finished nearly a full straightaway ahead of runner-up John Goforth. Third was Dustin Burge with Rod Phipps and Terry Malone Jr. completing the top five.

The WLBC/MAX Summer Series continues at Anderson Speedway on Friday, May 18 with the Ivy Tech Community College Spring Championships featuring Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars and Chappyís Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

On Saturday, May 19, the Ivy Tech Community College Season Championships conclude with the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks, Figure 8ís and Legends.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.