Gabehart Wins Anderson 125; Allman, Robbins and Bair Also Earn Saturday Night Victories

By Cassie Marcum

A big crowd and some great racing took place at Anderson Speedway on Saturday, June 9. The CRA Super Series marked its first season appearance on the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval during the Anderson 125 presented by Great Deals. The KOIL Legend Series, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Figure 8 cars also were featured on the program.

Chris Gabehart of Indianapolis scored the win in the CRA Super Series. The race literally began with a fiery start. Jeff Lane was able to get a great lead right at the green flag, but it was short lived because Scott Hantz’ car engulfed in the flames coming out of turn three on the first lap from a broken oil line. After the race had been red flag to clean up the track, officials decided to restart the race over again. Hantz was able to rejoin the race after losing two laps.

Lane was able to get the lead once again from Yorktown’s Rick Turner and led for 80 laps until he experienced engines problems, and that gave the lead to Gabehart.

Lap 33 was also very exciting, there was a seven-car-pileup in Turn 1 that left many cars damaged and a couple of cars out of the race. In the end, Gabehart was able to hold off Bret Miles, Jr for the win after many laps of battle. Rick Turner, Tweedy, and J.R. Roahrig rounded out the top five.

Hantz’ was able to get back on the track on lap 3 and came home with a finish in eighth. Tweedy led qualifying with a fast time of 12.151 seconds.

In other racing action, the Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks ran a 30-lap feature of 18 cars. Defending race winner, Rob Allman, of Anderson, took home the victory. Allman led the last for laps after battling with leader, Jake McElfresh, and eventually being able to get McElfresh loose to get around him. Jeff Perry scored the second place finish, along with McElfresh, New Castle’s Danny Acrey II, and rookie Katie Beaver rounding out the top five.

McElfresh and Ronnie Phipps won the two heat races. Allman was the fastest qualifies with a time of 14.339 seconds.

KOIL Legend Series made their season debut at Anderson Speedway in a 25-lap feature. Elwood’s John Robbins won the race with a dominant car over the field of 20 cars. By lap 5, Robbins had a huge lead over the rest of the field, but it was cut short when a caution came out because of a spin by Bryan Knuckles of Ohio. Rodney Smith came home with a second place finish. Toby Alfrey, James Edsal, and Tony Steffan all finished out the top five.

In preliminary action, Steffan and Eric Black won the two heats. Rodney Smith led qualifying with a time of 14.208 seconds.

Chris Bair, Sr, of Anderson, took home his first win of the season in the Figure 8’s. Bair was able to get the lead after being in the third position for quite sometime because both the leader and second place had problems and ended the race early. Dustin Burge finished in second after battling with Elliott McKinney and eventually getting around him. Bobby Long finished in third, with McKinney and James Peterson finishing fourth and fifth.

Anderson’s Rod Phipps was winner of the preliminary heat race.

Racing continues at Anderson Speedway on Friday, June 15th, with Newco Metal Legends, ThunderCars, and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.
On Saturday, June 16th, the Bollhoff Rivnut Super Pro Late Models, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks, and Figure 8’s will be featured.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.