Gaier, Lemmer, DeHart and Riddle Victorious on Saturday Night

By Denny Adams

Coldwater, Michigan’s Michael Gaier, Fairland’s Brian Lemmer, Alexandria’s Willy DeHart, and Anderson’s Mike Riddle Jr. were the big winners Saturday evening at Anderson Speedway in the Bollhoff Rivnut Super Pro Late Model, Ed Martin Automotive Group SuperTruck, Lampco FCU Street Stock, and Fabulous Figure 8 features.

Bollhoff Rivnut Super Pro Late Model action saw Michael Gaier dominate the first appearance of this Late Model series as he coasted to the victory in the 75 lap headliner over Rick Everidge of Stroh, Al Cook Jr. of Ft. Wayne, Coline Toland of South Bend and Jason Snyder of Jonesville, Michigan. Gaier and Eaton Rapids Mich., driver Rob Buckley were prelim winners with Gaier fast timer at 12.541.

In the Ed Martin Automotive Group SuperTrucks there was more action then the fans could watch. Brian Lemmer, Indy’s Bob Lemen and Anderson’s Brandon Phillips hooked up in a 40 lap dog fight for the lead with Lemmer hanging on for his second win of the season. Lemen took second over Phillips followed by Anderson’s Josh Poore and New Castle’s Tony Broyles. Lemmer and Danville’s Mark Soots were heat winners with Poore fast qualifier at 14.193.

Lampco FCU Street Stock racing had an awesome feature with Alexandria’s Willy DeHart holding off a late race charge from Anderson’s Rich Boyer. DeHart was able to use lapped traffic to keep Boyer at bay. Trailing were Anderson’s Ronnie Phipps and Rob Allman with New Castle’s Danny Acrey II rounding out the top 5. DeHart and Noblesville’s Katie Beaver captured heat wins while Abe Puckett took his first fast time at 14.529.

Fabulous Figure 8 racing was fabulous indeed. Ronnie Phipps of Middletown took the checkered in the 20 lap oval heat defeating Anderson’s Chris Bair Sr., Rod Phipps, Middletown’s Elliott McKinney and Anderson’s Ronnie Rose. The headliner was a slug fest with a complete restart after a multi car pile up in the first turn on the start. Upon the restart Mike Riddle Jr. jumped to the early lead and then had to watch a busy intersection and avoid several close calls to return to the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winners Circle defeating Anderson’s Nick Warner, Middletown’s Ronnie Phipps, Chris Bair Sr., and Ronnie Rose.

Action returns to the high banks of Anderson Speedway next Friday night, June 22nd, with the MAX-WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring the Newco Metals Legends, Thundercars and the Chappy’s Rent To Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action. Gates open at 5 pm with racing at 8 pm.

On Saturday, June 23rd, the fastest cars of the season, the H.O.S.S. Outlaw Winged Sprint Cars invade the High Banks of Anderson Speedway! The Lampco FCU Street Stocks and Fabulous Figure 8’s will also be on the card. Gates open at 5 pm with racing at 8 pm.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.