Burge, Robbins, Riall and Crum Score Friday Night Victories

By Cassie Marcum

Anderson Speedway returned to action on June 22 with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

Travis Burge, of Anderson, scored his first victory of the season in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s. On lap seven of the race, Nick Warner and Donnie Ellis III made contact racing for position with Burge able to lead all 10 laps and visit the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circle. Jeff Wright finished in second with Mark Dulworth, Bryan Wright and Nick Warner rounding out the top five.

The Newco Metals Legends were once again back in action at Anderson Speedway. The 25-lap race began with the front three cars pulling away on the first lap and maintaining that way for most of the race. Frankton’s John Robbins was able to hold off defending series champion Rodney Smith to earn his fourth victory of the season. James Edsall III, Billy Smith, and Doug Dugger finished out the top five.

Rodney Smith took home the heat win and Robbins was the fastest qualifier with a time of 14.103 seconds.

In the ThunderCars action, Alice Riall, of Alexandria, was able to grab the lead at the green and lead the entire 20-lap race and take home her first victory of the season. Tim Nickerson tried to take the top position from Riall, but he had to settle for a second-place finish. Nick Warner finished third, with Robbie Wyman and Johnathon Pitts finishing fourth and fifth.

In the heat races, Warner won the first heat with Nickerson winning the second one. Sam Folsom led qualifying with a time of 15.068 seconds.

Tony Crum, of Frankton, took home the win in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature. Twenty-four cars started the 15-lap feature. Crum was able to get the lead on lap four from Jeremy O’Bryant and pull away from the rest of the field. Crum’s big lead was cut short when the caution came out on lap nine for a multi-car pileup in turn one. The accident began with Allen Wagner and Kevin Harmon made contact and several cars got involved in the altercation. Crum held off David Baker for the victory with Cody Smith, Eric Shell, and Bryan Wright rounding out the top five.

Jerry Baker and Andy Keller won the two heats races, while Kevin Harmon was able to take home the top qualifying time at 16.097 seconds.

On Saturday, June 23, the fast H.O.S.S. Outlaw Winged Sprint Cars make their season debut along with Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Figure 8’s.

On Saturday night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing starting at 8 p.m. Admission is $12 for adults, $4 for children ages 6-12, and five and under are free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.