Lemen, Phipps, Edsall and Cullen Win on Saturday Night

By Jessica Larson

Anderson Speedway returned to action on Saturday, June 30, with the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Figure 8’s, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and KOIL Legend Series.

Indianapolis’ Bob Lemen took home the victory in the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks feature after leading the final 18 laps of the 40 lap feature. Mark Livesay led the first 12 circuits until a caution was called for smoke coming from the 28 truck of Ric Pfeifer. On the restart Brian Lemmer made quick work of Livesay to take over the lead. Brandon Phillips followed Lemmer for the second position. A battle heated up between Lemmer and Phillips until lap 22 when both trucks went spinning into the turn one wall. Lemmer with obvious damage was unable to remain in the race. Phillips was able to finish competing and came home ninth. Bob Lemen inherited the lead after the altercation and led the remainder of the race. Completing the top five were New Castle’s Tony Broyles, Indianapolis’ Scott Brooks, Greenfield’s Mark Livesay, and Muncie’s Larry Greene.

Brandon Phillips was able to claim the top qualifying position with a time of 13.871 seconds. Brian Lemmer and Mark Soots came home victorious in heat race action.

Anderson’s Ronnie Phipps recorded is second feature victory of the 2007 racing season. Phipps charged into first position at the drop of the green flag getting the jump on Dennis Moser and Danny Acrey II. On lap 19 second running Moser spun his car on the back stretch. Then one lap later a multi car incident took out the cars of Jacob Owens and Kyle Flynn. The wreck also injured the car of Bruce Mcfall, which was able to continue. Phipps was able to score the flag to flag victory over Acrey, Nobleville’s Joe Beaver, Alexandria’s Willy DeHart, and Elwood’s Jake McElfresh.

DeHart set quick time at 14.299 seconds. Phipps and Steve Raper Jr. won preliminary heat races.

James Edsall III was victorious in the KOIL Legend Series main event. He grabbed the lead after out dueling Rodney Smith. On the second circuit Ohio’s Bryan Nuckles passed Rodney Smith to advance into second position and then on lap five, Nuckles passed Edsall for the lead. Smith followed Nuckles around Edsall to grab second place. On lap 14, Rodney Smith’s bid for victory went up in flames as his car caught fire. He was ok, but was finished racing for the evening. Nuckles held the lead until an altercation between he and Toby Alfrey took place in turn one with one lap remaining. That handed the lead to Edsall who finished ahead of John Robbins and Billy Smith. Mark Dietzen placed fourth with Jeremie Johnson rounding out the top five.

Robbins turned the fastest lap in qualification with a time 14.037 seconds. In heat race action Rodney Smith and Edsall scored victories.

In Figure 8 action, Shawn Cullen made a successful season debut by winning the 25 lap feature. Rod Phipps led the opening circuit with Cullen then taking command of the field on the second lap. He led the remaining 24 laps. On lap three, Rod Phipps and Ranny Hinton made contact forcing Hinton up the track and collecting Ronnie Phipps. Both vehicles were able to continue in racing action. Cullen held off Rod Phipps for the victory. Ronnie Rose placed third with Bobby Long and Dustin Burge completing the top five finishers.

Terry Malone Jr. won the oval heat race over Elliot McKinney and Cullen.

Join us Wednesday, July 4th for Indiana Business College Figure 8 Madness Plus MAX/WHBU Set the Night to Music Fireworks! The racing program will include a 1 hour Figure 8 Enduro with the Figure 8’s also featured will be School Bus Figure 8’s, Powder Puff School Bus Figure 8’s and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, followed by the best fireworks show in Anderson!

On Wednesday Night, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing program beginning at 7. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.