Warner, Moyes lll, Burton and Lundy Score Friday Night Victories

By Cassie Marcum

Anderson Speedway returned to action on July 6th with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

Nick Warner scored his tenth win in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s. Warner took the lead from Jeff Wright on the 4th circuit and drove to the checkered with a huge lead over second place finisher, Wright. Donnie Ellis, Jr. was third, with Travis Burge and Bryan Wright rounding out the top five.

The Newco Metals Legends were once again back in action at Anderson Speedway. John Robbins got the lead at the green. Rodney Smith was able to get around Robbins to take over first place on lap 7. By lap 9, Robbins had fallen to fifth position and was never able to make it back to the front. Late in the race a battle developed between the two cars of Smith and David Moyes III. Moyes was able to get around Rodney Smith for the lead. During the battle, the 86 car of James Folkes collected the first turn wall and forced the yellow flag to fly. Moyes was able to maintain the lead for the victory. Billy Smith was second, with James Edsall III, Eric Black, and John Robbins finishing out the top five. Rodney Smith was disqualified for rough driving after an altercation with Moyes III during the caution.

James Fowlkes and Clark Dietzen were the two heat race winners, while David Moyes III scored the top qualifying time with a time of 14.093 seconds.

In ThunderCar action, Lonny Burton jumped to the lead at the green and was able to maintain that position to score his third win of the season over one of the largest fields of cars this season. Burton had a lead of almost a straightaway on the rest of the field by lap 7. At the checkered, John Thompson was second, with William Coffman scoring a third place finish. Alexandria’s Alice Riall was fourth and Muncie’s Robbie Wyman was fifth. The second place car of Thompson was later disqualified in the post race technical inspection for a part infraction.
In the Thundercar heat races, Johnathon Pitts won the first heat with Coffman winning the second one. Thompson was the top qualifier with a time of 15.140 seconds.

Alexandria’s Hannah Lundy scored her first win in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Ovals. A heated battle among the top three cars of Lundy, Travis Burge and David Baker highlighted the race. Lundy was able to hold on to the top spot and visit the winner’s circle for the first time. Burge was second, Baker third, with Devin Mitchell and Allen Wagner rounding out the top five.

Burge and Jeremy O’Bryant won the two heats races, while Harmon was the fast qualifier with a time of 16.121 seconds. .

On Saturday, July 7th, the Ed Martin Auto Group 50 with the O’Reilly USA Modified Tour will be featured along with Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks, Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.