Tharp, Smith, Folsom and Harmon Score Friday Night Victories

By Cassie Marcum

Anderson Speedway returned to action on July 13th with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

Ronnie Phipps is only one of three different drivers to win in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s this season. A good three-way battle for the first spot developed on lap 3 between the cars of Phipps, Donnie Ellis III, and Nick Warner, however, on lap 7 Ellis blew a tire and Jeff Wright was able to get around Warner to take over second. Then, the battle was for second and Warner was able to get around Wright and try to move on to take over first from Phipps. Phipps did a good job holding off Warner to score his second victory. Warner came home with a second place finish. Jeff Wright was third, with Andy Keller and Dennis Farver, Sr. rounding out the top five.

The Newco Metals Legends were once again back in action at Anderson Speedway. The 25-lap race began with Anderson’s Clark Dietzen getting the lead at the green. Rodney Smith, of Indianapolis, was able to score his second win of the season. John Robbins was second, Clark Dietzen third, with Mark Dietzen and Billy Smith finishing out the top five.

Greenfield’s Rodney Smith won the heat race. John Robbins was the fastest qualifier with a time of 14.164 seconds.

In ThunderCar action, Anderson’s Sam Folsom got the lead at the green and was able to drive away with his fifth win of the season. On the last lap of the race, the fifth position of Mike Ellis hit the wall in turn 4 after driving a good race. At the checkered, Jeff Eytchison was second and Robbie Wyman was third. Johnathon Pitts and Lonny Burton rounded out the top five.

In the ThunderCar heat races, Nick Warner won the first heat with Tom Tacket winning the second one. Folsom had the fastest qualifying time with 15.055 seconds.

Kevin Harmon was able to get his eight win of the season in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Ovals. There was action right from the green in the 15-lap feature. Ron Phipps, of Anderson, hit the corner hard in Turn 3 before a lap was scored in the race. Tim Tharp and Harmon battled for the lead for a few laps before Harmon scored the win. Allen Wagner took home the second position. Tharp, Bryan Wright and David Baker completed the top five. The fifth place car of Baker was later disqualified in the post race technical inspection.

Terrill Wilhoit and Devin Mitchell won the two heats races. Allen Wagner was the top qualifier with a time of 16.128 seconds.

For additional information contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.