By: Cassie Marcum

Anderson Speedway returned to action on August 3rd with the MAX/WLBC Friday Night Summer Series featuring Kenyon Midgets, ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

Nick Warner took home the checkered in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s to score his thirteenth win of the season. Warner was able to get the lead at the green. A good battle for second place developed early in the race with the cars of Tim Tharp and Jeff Wright. With the battle for second taking place, Warner was able to stretch his lead to a comfortable length. Wright got the second spot, but wasn’t able to catch Warner in time and had to settle for a second place finish. Donnie Ellis, Jr. finished third, with Andy Keller and Wright rounding out the top five.

The Newco Metals Legends were once again back in action at Anderson Speedway. Frankton’s John Robbins was able to get the lead at the green and never looked back. Robbins led all twenty-five laps of the feature en route to his fourth victory of the season. An on-going battle for second took place throughout the race between the cars of David Moyes, III and Bryan Nuckles. Nuckles was able to score the second place finish with Moyes finishing third. James Fowlkes and Rodney Smith finished fourth and fifth.

In preliminary action, Robbins and Mark Dietzen won the two heat races. Fowlkes was the top qualifier with a time of 14.053 seconds.

In ThunderCar action, the race began with a multi-car pileup in turn two. Sam Folsom, who was 10 points out of the points lead coming into the race, was hit hard and never was able to return to the track. On the complete restart, Anderson’s Jeff Eytchison got the lead and maintained in the top spot to score his first win of the season. However, it wasn’t an easy win for Eytchison because Nick Warner was on his tail for most of the race until Warner got caught up in lapped traffic. Warner held off a late race challenge by Lonny Burton to finish second. Burton was third, with Darryl Rogers and Tim Dick rounding out the top five.

In the ThunderCar heat races, Mike Ellis won the first heat with Dennis Farver, Sr. winning the second one. Sam Folsom had the fastest qualifying time with 15.082 seconds.

Anderson’s Devin Mitchell was able to score his second win of the season in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Ovals. Mitchell was able to get the lead at the green and lead all fifteen laps of the feature. The caution came out on lap 10 for the wheel of Lenny Thompson flying off on the backstretch. Then, again on lap 12 the caution was thrown for another loose wheel on the backstretch, but this time it belonged to Tim Tharp. Mitchell held off Allen Wagner at the checkered to take the win. Wagner was second and Tony Crum was third. Bryan Wright and Eric Shell finished out the top five.
Shell and Lenny Thompson won the two heats races. Bryan Wright was the top qualifier with a time of 16.170 seconds.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206