Smith, Folsom, Harmon and Warner Victorious On Opening Night of WLBC/MAX Listener Appreciation Weekend

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on Friday, August 10 for the opening night of the WLBC/MAX Listener Appreciation Weekend. On Friday Night, the racing program showcased Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

In the Newco Metals Legends action, defending division champion Rodney Smith earned his fifth feature victory in one of the closest finishes in Anderson Speedway's 60-year history. The 25-lap race began with South Carolina's Tommy Jordan grabbing the first position and pacing the opening five circuits. Billy Smith took over the point on the sixth lap and three laps later, Jordan dropped from the second position with apparent mechanical problems.

After Jordan dropped out, a three car battle developed between Billy Smith, Rodney Smith and John Robbins for the victory. A pair of caution flags slowed the event on laps 13 and 16. The remaining nine circuits provided some exciting action with Rodney Smith and John Robbins waging a great battle for second position. After Rodney Smith solidified the runner-up position, he then set his sights on Billy Smith. The final five laps provided an exciting duel, with Rodney Smith finishing just 0.011 seconds ahead of Billy Smith. Robbins placed third with Eric Black and Mark Dietzen completing the top-five finishers. Robbins posted the best qualifying time at 14.103 second with Billy Smith winning the heat race.

Sam Folsom rebounded from bad luck from last week to earn his fifth checkered flag of the ThunderCars season. Folsom sailed into the top spot at the start with Tom Tacket in the runner-up position. Folsom was able to build a healthy margin on the remainder of the lead lap machines. As Folsom was cruising to the victory, Johnathon Pitts made a last lap pass on Tom Tacket to grab second-place honors. Nick Warner was fourth with Lonny Burton in fifth position.

Folsom led qualifying with a time of 15.177 seconds. Darryl Rogers and Josh Myers were winners of heat races.

Anderson's Nick Warner turned in another impressive performance in the Chappy's Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8's, scoring his 13th victory of the season. He got the jump on David Baker at the start and never looked back. Jeff Wright crossed the finish line in second position with Baker, Donnie Ellis Jr. and Andy Keller filling out the top-five finishers.

Kevin Harmon visited the O'Reilly Auto Parts Winner's Circle after recording his 10th victory in the Chappy's Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval division. Harmon jumped to the first position at the drop of the green flag and constructed a sizeable advantage. The caution waved on the 12th circuit, bunching up the front runners. After the restart, Harmon continued his dominance and pulled away to a 2.327 second victory over Bryan Wright. Third was Devin Mitchell with David Baker and Tim Tharp completing the top five.

Gary Bragg Jr. paced qualifying with a time of 16.121 seconds with Bryan Wright and Dennis Gee grabbing the winning hardware during heat races.

On Saturday, August 11, the world’s fastest cars return when the H.O.S.S. Outlaw Winged Sprint Cars invade Anderson Speedway during Pepsi Night at the Races presented by Wings Etc. The racing program will also include Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Figure 8’s and Central Indiana Mini Cups.

Spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with racing beginning at 8. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206