Koehler, Lemmer, Riddle and Baugh Score Victories on Saturday Night

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on Saturday, August 11 with the conclusion of the WLBC/MAX Listener Appreciation Weekend. The Pepsi Night at the Races presented by Wings Etc. featured the return of H.O.S.S. Winged Sprint Cars. Other divisions included Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Figure 8ís and Central Indiana Mini Cups.

South Bendís Ron Koehler turned in a dominating performance in the H.O.S.S. Winged Sprint Cars featuring, leading all 30 laps en route to claiming the victory. Koehler got the jump on Jason Fuller at the start and was able to build a sizeable margin over his closest challengers while also slicing through the lap traffic with ease. Only one caution flag slowed the event, but that didnít slow Koehler. At the finish, Jimmy McCune chased Koehler across the finish line. Jason Fuller placed third with Hank Lower and Greg Wheeler completing the top-five finishers.

Jimmy McCune topped the qualifying session with a quick time of 10.704 seconds at 84.081 mph. Sam Davis, Brandon Whited and Koehler grabbed heat race wins.

Fairlandís Brian Lemmer recorded another strong performance in the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, scoring his fourth feature victory. Jerry Faucett darted into first position at the start with Ric Pefeifer taking command of the field on the sixth go-around. Lemmer took command on the 12th circuit and then led the remainder of the 40-lap feature. At the checkered, Lemmer finished 0.948 seconds ahead of a charging Ronnie Rose. Third was Josh Poore with Brandon Phillips and Bob Lemen rounding out the top five.

Brandon Phillips topped the qualifying charts with a lap of 14.183 seconds. Rod Phipps and Lemmer were victorious during heat races.

In the Central Indiana Mini Cups, Kyle Baugh earned the victory. At the start, Carl Colbert grabbed the lead, pacing the opening two circuits. Michigan Tim Phillips grabbed the point on the third circuit with Kyle Baugh completing the race-winning pass on Phillips on the fifth circuit. At the finish, Baugh finished 0.669 seconds ahead of Brian Ayers, Phillips grabbed third-place honors with Colbert and Eric Murphy completing the top five.
Baugh was the top qualifier at 15.546 seconds and also won the first heat. Josh Poore took the victory on the second heat.

Mike Riddle Jr. added another victory to his impressive Figure 8 resume, with taking the victory in the 25-lap main event. Chris Bair Sr. led the opening fourth circuits with Ronnie Phipps then taking command of the field on the sixth go-around. After a fierce battle with Phipps, the third lead change took place when Riddle charged into first position. At the finish, Riddle scored the win over Ronnie Phipps. Herb Rose placed third with Dustin Burge in fourth and Rod Phipps in fifth position.

In the 20-lap Oval heat race for the Figure 8ís, Rod Phipps scored the victory after passing early race leader Mike Riddle Jr. The top two remained unchanged during the duration of the heat. Dustin Burge was third with Ronnie Phipps and Herb Rose completing the top-five finishers.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Friday, August 17, the WLBC/MAX Friday Night Summer Series featuring Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars, and Chappyís Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in oval and figure 8 racing.

On Saturday, August 18, the Lampco Federal Credit Union Weekend at the Races will conclude with Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Figure 8ís.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.