Robbins, Dick, Crum and Wright Victorious on Friday Night

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on Friday, August 17 during the opening night of the Lampco Federal Credit Union Weekend at the Races. On Friday Night, the racing program showcased Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

Recording his fifth victory of the Newco Metals Legends season, Frankton’s John Robbins held off Rodney Smith to visit the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circle. Eric Black led the opening three circuits with John Robbins then taking command of the field. Robbins and Smith then battled for the race lead for much of the event with Illinois visitor Kyle Lapier also in the mix. Mechanical problems dropped Lapier to a distant third-place finish. At the checkered flag, Robbins finished 0.174 seconds ahead of Rodney Smith. The remainder of the top five included Lapier, Billy Smith and Mark Dietzen.

Lapier earned the heat race victory and also topped the qualifying charts with an official clocking of 14.071 seconds.

Anderson’s Tim Dick scored his initial victory of the season in the ThunderCar feature. At the drop of the green flag, Tim Nickerson darted into first place. A battle then developed between Nickerson and Dick for the top spot. On the ninth lap, Dick completed the pass and took over first position with Nickerson running a solid second. At the finish, Dick finished 2.251 seconds ahead of Nickerson, who held off a late charge from Lonny Burton. Josh Myers and points leader Nick Warner filled out the top five finishers.

Burton led the qualifying charts with a lap of 15.110 seconds. Warner and Tom Tacket earned the winning hardware in heat races.

Tony Crum collected his third victory of the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval season after holding off a furious challenge from Allen Wagner. During the final stages of the event, Crum was working through lap traffic as Wagner made attempts to grab first position. Coming toward the white flag, the two made contact with Wagner losing some momentum and Crum was able to build enough cushion for the win. Wagner held on for second position.

On the final lap entering turn 3, the third place battle heated between Bryan Wright and fourth running Kevin Harmon, who made contact, with Wright spinning. Harmon crossed the line in third, but officials regulated him to last car on the lead lap due to rough driving. The revised order placed Gary Bragg Jr. in third with Jerry Baker and Devin Mitchell rounding out the top-five finishers.

Harmon was the fast qualifier at 15.989 seconds with Andy Keller and mark Dulworth grabbing heat race wins.

Jeff Wright turned in a dominant performance in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s, earning a half lap victory over Nick Warner. On his way to second checkered flag of the season, Wright did a masterful job of working the cross over traffic. Nick Warner charged from the rear of the field to cross the finish line in second position. Andy Keller was third with Dennis Farver Sr. and Harry LaShur completing the top-five finishers.

On Saturday, August 18, the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval features Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Figure 8’s. The speedway is scheduling a special pre-race ceremony to honor Bob Lemen, who suffered a fatal heart attack last Saturday night after finishing fifth in his final SuperTruck event.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with an Autograph Session taking place at 7 in the Big Tent. The special ceremony for Bob Lemen will take place at approximately 8. with the racing program to follow. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206