Ronnie Phipps Wins 3rd Annual ThunderCup; Stanley, Cullen, Baugh, Webb and Harmon Also Win

Racing action returned to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, August 24 with the 3rd Annual ThunderCup, School Bus Figure 8’s, CSR Mini Cups and a special Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval event.

Adding another victory to his impressive career at Anderson Speedway, veteran Ronnie Phipps won the 3rd Annual ThunderCup. He became the third different winner in three years. The 40-lap feature began with Shane Cullen leading the opening eight laps. On the eighth circuit, Cullen and second running Dustin Burge tangled, with Cullen retiring from the event and Burge returning to the race after visiting the pit area. Ronnie Phipps inherited the lead with Rod Phipps listed in the second position. Shortly after the restart, Rod Phipps dropped out with apparent mechanical problems.

Ronnie Phipps then cruised to the victory, finishing 4.537 seconds ahead of Lonny Burton. Anderson’s Josh Myers grabbed third-place honors with Ronnie Rose and Rob Allman completed the top five finishers. Rod Phipps was the fast qualifier at 15.046 seconds with Jeff Eytchison and Ronnie Phipps winning heat races.

In the School Bus Figure 8’s, Danny Stanley Jr. followed up his runner-up performance on July 4th to score the victory in the 12-lap event. Ronnie Phipps led the opening six laps with Stanley then taking command and leading the second half of the event. Basil Stanley crossed the finish line in second position with Ronnie Phipps in third place. Ranny Hinton and Terry Burton completed the top-five finishers.

Anderson’s Robin Cullen scored a flag-to-flag victory in the Powder Puff School Bus Figure 8’s. Six buses competed in the eight lap event. Following Cullen across the finish line included Muncie’s Kendra Burgess and Teresa Dowden.

The CSR Mini Cups featured events for the Adult and Junior divisions. In the 15-lap Junior division, Kyle Baugh turned in a dominating performance. After sailing into the lead in the early stages, he then held off Alec Webb at the checkers. Cole Williams placed third with Courtney Hannah and Joey Greening rounding out the top five.

Webb was the Junior division fast timer with a quick lap of 15.913 seconds. Cody Lipstreuer and Baugh won heat races.

In the 30-lap Adult feature for the CSR Mini Cups, Taylor Webb scored the victory. He controlled much of the event and was forced to fend off a last lap challenge from Chad Varner as they approached heavy lap traffic of the final circuit. Webb made the correct lane choice and finished just. 0.158 seconds ahead of Varner. Third was Artie Repplewell. Varner was the fast qualifier at 15.287 seconds with Repplewell and Jake Jump grabbing heat race victories.

Alexandria’s Kevin Harmon continued his successful season with scoring his 11th checkered flag of the season in the special Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval event. Jack Leisure led the opening 11 circuits of the 30-lap event before mechanical problems dropped him from first place to the infield. He finished in 14th position. That propelled Harmon into the top spot and he then finished almost two seconds ahead of Nick Warner. Markleville’s Randy Hoppes was third with Devin Mitchell and Aaron Stinson filling out the top-five finishers.

In qualifying, Harmon was the fast qualifier with a quick time of 16.009 seconds. Warner and Hoppes were winners of the heat races.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Friday, August 31, the opening night of the Newco Metals Labor Day Weekend. The WLBC/MAX Friday Night Summer Series will feature Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars, and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 racing.

On Saturday, September 1, the biggest event of the season will take place for the Newco Metals in the Grant Fritz / Greg Dietzen Memorial presented by Last Chance Wrecker. The Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks and Figure 8’s will also be in action on Saturday night.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.