Moyes, Pitts, Mitchell and Keller Capture Victories in Wild Friday Night

Racing resumed Friday evening at Anderson Speedway as it was the Newco Metals Labor Day Weekend for the MAX/WLBC Summer Series. Cottontown, Tennessees David Moyes, III captured the Newco Metals Legend headliner while the Anderson trio of Jonathon Pitts took the win in the Thundercar main event, Devin Mitchell the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive Oval and Andy Keller the Front Wheel Drive Figure 8.

Legend cars from six states were in town for the tune-up for the Grant Fritz-Greg Dietzen Memorial with 25 cars going into battle at the green flag in the main event. The race proved to be very rough on equipment which began with a five car pile-up on the first lap causing a restart. The race would be slowed six times by yellow and see 14 members of the starting field eliminated before the end. David Moyes, III took his fifth checker of the season over Kyle Lapier of Belvidere, IL, Tony Sansom of Orlando, FL, Fairland's Billy Smith and Indy's Chris Weddle. Vero Beach, Florida's Alex Kempf and Pendleton's Mark Dietzen were heat winners. Lapier was fast qualifier at 14.016 seconds.

Jonathon Pitts jumped out to an early lead in the Thundercar feature stretching his lead to a full straightaway at the end to capture his first win of the year. Point leader Nick Warner of Anderson suffered mechanical difficulty early in the event and left at half way. It was a top five Anderson finish with Lonnie Burton 2nd, Sam Folsom 3rd Tom Tacket 4th and Jeff Eytchison 5th. Alexandria's Darryl Rogers and Anderson's Tim Nickerson were prelim winners. Lonny Burton was fast qualifier at 14.976 seconds.

Thirty-Three Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drives were on hand to do battle in two divisions of oval and figure-8 racing. In the Oval feature, Anderson's Devin Mitchell was able to zig in and out of heavy traffic to capture his third checker of the season. Kokomo's Gary Bragg, Jr. trailed in 2nd followed by Anderson's David Baker, point leader Bryan Wright of Anderson and Chesterfield's Allen Wagner. Bryan Wright, Anderson's Jeremy O'Bryant and Louisville, KY's John Ford were heat winners. Bragg was fast qualifier at 16.061 seconds.

Anderson's Jeff Wright led the largest field of the year to green in the Front Wheel Drive Figure - 8. Twenty cars had the fans on their feet with exciting cross-over action. Leader Jeff Wright was eliminated on lap 2 with a crash at the intersection vaulting Andy Keller to the top spot. Keller avoided a couple of near misses to capture his first win of the year. Defending Champion/point leader Nick Warner was 2nd, Elwood's Bruce McFall 3rd, Alexandria's Dennis Farver, Sr. 4th and Anderson's Mark Dulworth 5th.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206