McCormick Wins 11th Annual Grant Fritz / Greg Dietzen Memorial; Lemmer and Riddle Also Victorious

The Newco Metals Labor Day Weekend continued at Anderson Speedway Saturday evening with Orlando, Florida's Shaughn McCormick capturing the prestigious 11th Annual Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial for the Newco Metals Legends. Fairland's Brian Lemmer took the Ed Martin Automotive Group SuperTruck headliner while Anderson's Mike Riddle, Jr. won the Figure - 8 main event.

Some 29 legends from six states vied for the checker in the 11th Annual Grant Fritz/Greg Dietzen Memorial. Local favorites Mark and Clark Dietzen were eliminated in a five car, turn two pile-up on lap two. Another three cars tangled on lap 24 while six more locked up on lap 32, in all eliminating only three cars. David Moyes, III, of Cotttontown, TN., who was fast timer with a lap of 13.939 led the field from his pole position most of the night. Kory Abbott of Apopka, Fla., never left the back bumper of Moyes and made a daring thread the needle move with 10 laps to go to take the lead.

Moyes tried to overtake Abbott in the final corner coming for the checker but instead ending up tangling with Abbott with Abbott doing a 360 degree spin and Moyes going on for the apparent win. Moyes was relegated to the back of the lead lap for the contact vaulting third place runner Shaughn McCormick to the win. Abbot finished second with defending track champ Rodney Smith of Indy in third position. Frankton's John Robbins grabbed fourth-place honors with Vero Beach, Florida's Alex Kempf rounding out the top five.

Brian Lemmer avoided a late race snarl and a green, white, checker restart finish to capture his fifth Ed Martin SuperTruck feature win of the season. Lemmer was able to nudge by Indy's Scott Brooks, who led until late in the race. Danville's Ric Pfeiffer took second, Brooks ended up third with Anderson's Ronnie Rose and Brandon Phillips fourth and fifth. Rose and Brooks were heat winners with Phillips fast qualifier at 13.950 seconds.

Figure 8 racing saw Anderson's Rod Phipps continue his winning ways in the 20 lap oval heat in a dominating performance. Trailing the race winner included Anderson's Rob Allman in second place, Ronnie Rose in third, Ranny Hinton fourth and Michael Phipps rounded out the top five. In the 25-lap feature, Mike Riddle Jr. captured his fifth feature checker of the season after avoiding a first lap pileup that involved seven cars, four of which were eliminated. Chasing Riddle to the checkers were point leader Rod Phipps in second, Ranny Hinton third, Wilkinson's Herb Rose fourth and Anderson's Josh Tharp fifth.

Racing resumes at Anderson Speedway Friday evening in the MAX/WLBC Summer Series with the Newco Metals Legends, the ThunderCars and the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action. Gates open at 5 with racing at 8. Adult admission is $7 with children 6-12 admitted for $4. Five and Under are free. Saturday night will be the Ed Martin SuperTrucks, the Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks, the Figure-8's and the Kenyon Midgets. Adult admission is $10, children 6-12 are $4 with five and under free. Gates open at 5 with racing at 8.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.