Brown, Warner, Wright and Phipps Score Victories on Friday Night

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on Friday, September 14 with the WLBC / MAX Summer Series featuring Newco Metals Legends, ImmediaDent ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

In the Newco Metals Legends feature, Wisconsin competitor Blake Brown turned in a dominant performance in his first visit to Anderson Speedway. He grabbed the lead at the start, getting the jump on Pendleton’s Mark Dietzen with James Edsall lll, Bryan Nuckles and John Robbins filling out the top five during the early stages. The first caution took place on the fourth circuit when Doug Dugger made hard contact with the turn 4 wall.

After the restart, Brown continued to pace the event with Nuckles bypassing Edsall for second position. By the 10th lap mark, Brown held a full straightaway advantage over Nuckles and Edsall.

The final caution flag took place on lap 17 when Illinois racer Alex Arelano spun exiting the second turn. The remainder of the race, Brown was able to pull away to finish 1.464 seconds ahead of Nuckles. Third at the finish was Edsall with Rodney Smith and John Robbins completing the top five. Nuckles was the fast timer at 14.029 seconds with Brown and Cullen Camasta winning heat races.

Anderson’s Nick Warner scored his second season victory in the ImmediaDent ThunderCars. Starting on the outside on the front row, Warner passed Jeff Dick on the initial start. As Warner pulled away, Alice Riall moved into second position with Dick scored in third.

After the caution period on the sixth lap, Warner reconstructed his large margin and was unchallenged for the duration of the 20-lap event. As Warner held the first position, Lonny Burton was making a charge from his ninth starting position to finish in second after making a last lap pass on Alice Riall. Alexandria’s Darryl Rogers and Tim Dick completed the top-five finishers.

Sam Folsom set new track record in qualifying with an official clocking of 14.870 seconds. Heat race victories went to Tim Nickerson and Brad Cain.

In took four attempts to get the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives Oval officially started for their 15-lap event, but then four lead changes occurred in the action-packed event. Ryan O’Bryant grabbed the lead at the start with Jeremy O’Bryant sailing into the top spot the second lap. Jerry Baker passes O’Bryant for first position on the third circuit with Bryan Wright then becoming the fourth different leader on the fourth lap.

Wright then dominated the remainder of the feature, but was forced to fend off a late charge from Devin Mitchell. At the checkers, Wright finished just 0.199 seconds ahead of Mitchell. Third was Gary Bragg Jr., with Casey Davis and Jeremy O’Bryant completing the top five.

In qualifying, Kevin Harmon posted the top time with a quick lap of 16.020 seconds. Mitchell, Davis and Ryan O’Bryant won heat races.

Veteran racer Ronnie Phipps demonstrated why he is one of the best Figure 8 drivers with scoring the victory in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature. Phipps grabbed first position at the start over Jared Keller and then pulled away to score an impressive victory. While Phipps built a sizeable margin, it was far from easy and he was forced to work through heavy cross over traffic during the 10-lap event.

At the checkers, Jared Keller placed second with Donnie Ellis Jr. edging out point’s leader Nick Warner for third place. Andy Keller rounded out the top-five finishers.

After a three-year absence, the USAC National Midgets make their return to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, September 15. The racing program will also include ImmediaDent Figure 8’s and Newco Metals Legends.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing program beginning at 8. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.