Smith, Willis, Eytchison, Lundy and Keller Grab Friday Night Victories

Anderson Speedway returned to racing action on Friday, September 21 with the WLBC / MAX Summer Series featuring Newco Metals Legends, UMRA Midgets, ImmediaDent ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

Defending Newco Metals Legends champion recorded a division best seventh feature victory of the season. Greenfield’s Tony Holden darted into first position at the drop of the green flag, pacing the opening two laps. On the third go-around, current points leader John Robbins took command of the field. Robbins paced the 25-lap event until Rodney Smith made the race winning pass on the 23rd lap. Smith then finished 0.411 seconds ahead of Robbins with James Edsall lll in third position. Holden and Eric Black rounded out the top-five.

Rodney Smith turned in the top qualifying lap at 14.008 seconds with Edsall winning the heat race.

In the UMRA Midgets, James Willis scored a dominating victory. The 25-lap feature began with outside front-row starter Zach Cougill sailing into first place. He led the opening five circuits with eventual race winner Willis then passing Cougill for the lead on the fifth lap. Willis was able to pull away during the remainder of the race to finish 4.451 seconds ahead of Tate Martz, who advanced from a 24th place starting position. Terry Goff crossed the finish line in third with Patrick Wolf and Will Nedderman completing the top five.

Willis led qualifying with a time of 12.585 seconds and visited the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circle in heat race action. Oogie Goff and Tate Martz were also heat race winners.

Anderson’s Jeff Eytchison recorded his second feature victory of the ImmediaDent ThunderCar season. Eytchison got the jump on Sam Folsom on the initial start and then drove to a flag-to-flag victory. Eytchsion had to fend off a late charge from Tom Tackett. At the checkers, Eytchison finished 0.279 seconds ahead of Tackett. Third was Sam Folsom with Lonny Burton and Darryl Rogers completing the top five.

Following up his track record qualifying lap from one week ago, Sam Folsom grabbed his second consecutive quick time with a time of 14.977 seconds. Eytchison and Jeff Dick won heat races.

Alexandria’s Hannah Lundy won her second Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature. She passed Harry LaShure on the start and never looked back, cruising to a 4.380 second victory over Jerry Baker. Third after the 15-lap event was Jeff Wright with Bryan Wright and Eric Shell filling out the top five.

Gary Bragg Jr., of Kokomo, paced qualifying with a time of 15.850 seconds. Heat race victories were claimed by Shell and Tim Tharp.

Andy Keller returned to the winner’s circle for the second occasion this season in the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s. He led all 10 laps en route to the feature victory. At the finish, Nick Warner crossed the line in second position with Jeff Wright placing third. Donnie Ellis and Elwood’s Bruce McFall completed the top five.

On Saturday, September 22, the lineup includes Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, ImmediaDent Figure 8’s, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks and Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing program beginning at 8. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.