Rose, Owens, Hinton, Abbott and Warner Score Saturday Night Victories

Racing action returned to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, September 22 featuring Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks, ImmediaDent Figure 8’s along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

In the Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Anderson’s Ronnie Rose scored his fourth feature victory of the season. Former division champion Josh Burton grabbed the lead aft the start, leading the early portion of the 40-lap main event. On the eighth go-around, Rose completed the race-winning pass on Burton.

At the finish, Rose held off a hard charging Brandon Phillips by just 0.295 seconds. The remainder of the top-five finishers included Danville’s Mark Soots, Muncie’s Bret Miles Jr. and Fairland’s Brian Lemmer.

Phillips earned his seventh fast time with a quick lap of 14.000 seconds. Rose and Scott Brooks were winners of heat races.

Jake Owens continued his superb Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stock season, winning his sixth feature. The action-packed event began with Bruce McFall leading the opening three circuits. On the fourth lap, Markleville’s Ranny Hoppes charged into first position and then on the 10th circuit, Ronnie Phipps grabbed the lead. Hoppes returned to first on the 18th circuit and held the lead until the final circuit when Jake Owens completed the pass for first position on Hoppes.

Following Owens across the finish line included Danny Acrey ll with Rob Allman in third position. Alexandria’s Willy DeHart and John Lundy rounded out the top five. Hoppes dropped from first position on the final lap to finish in eighth spot.

Rob Allman was quick timer at 14.214 seconds with Ronnie Phipps and Hoppes grabbing heat race victories.

Anderson’s Ranny Hinton continued his impressive season with the ImmediaDent Figure 8’s, visiting the O’Reilly Auto Parts Winner’s Circle for the fourth occasion this season. The 25-lap feature began with Michael Phipps pacing the opening 10 circuits. Hinton then got around Michael Phipps for the lead that he wouldn’t relinquish for the remainder of the main event. At the checkers, Hinton was followed by Josh Tharp and Ronnie Rose crossed the line in third spot. Current points leader Rod Phipps was fourth with Mike Riddle Jr. listed in fifth.

In the 20-lap Oval heat race for the Figure 8’s, Nick Warner collected his second heat victory. Former division champion Jeff Swinford led the opening 11 laps with Warner pacing the final nine circuits to grab the victory. Rod Phipps placed second with Mike Riddle Jr. in third position.

The Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Oval feature, Greentown’s Trevor Abbott won his first career event. The 15-lap race started with Harry LaShure pacing the opening two circuits and then Abbott completed the race-winning pass on LaShure. During the remainder of the event, Abbott was able to construct a sizeable advantage, finishing 5.259 seconds ahead of current points leader Bryan Wright. Third was Jerry Baker with David Baker and Russell Kirby Jr. rounding out the top five.

Jerry Baker recorded the best time in qualifying with an official clocking of 15.946 seconds. Heat race victories went to David Baker and Rick McCord.

In the Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives Figure 8’s, Nick Warner won his 14th feature on the season. Donnie Ellis Jr. led the opening six circuits, with Warner then pacing Ellis for the top spot. At the checkers, Ellis crossed the line in second with Bruce McFall in third position. Dennis Farver Sr. and Jeff Swinford completed the top five.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, September 28 with the Season Championship weekend kicking off with the WLBC / MAX Friday Night Summer Series. The lineup includes Newco Metals Legends, ImmediaDent ThunderCars along with Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drives in Oval an Figure 8 racing.

On Saturday, September 29, Season Championships feature Ed Martin Auto Group SuperTrucks, Lampco Federal Credit Union Street Stocks, ImmediaDent Figure 8’s and a special appearance from the USAC Kenyon Midgets.

For additional information, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.