Night of Thrills Held on Saturday Night

It was thrill time Saturday evening at Anderson Speedway as a vast crowd jammed the grandstands to witness the Biolife Plasma Services Night of Thrills presented by The Herald Bulletin and Chappy's Rent To Own. The night even had a wedding in the crossover at intermission!

The first event was the Powder Puff Front Wheel Drive Feature, with things getting off to a wild start when Janeen Dulworth put her car on its top on lap two. Following this red flag pile-up, Tara Folsom went on to the win defeating Betty Blankenship, Melanie Coil, Rhonda Carr and Shannon Scott.

Next came a fender rubbing Powder Puff School Bus Figure 8’s and Tara Folsom proved to everyone that she is tuff regardless of what direction she races! Tara took the lead from Hannah Lundy on the white flag lap and took her second straight checker over Lundy, Becky Stanley, Bobbi Jo Elliott and Teresa Downan.

Thirty-two cars went into action in the Chappy's Rent To Own Front Wheel Drive Oval Feature. Race leader Kyle Byrd looked like he had things in hand with a sizeable lead but a crash with four laps to go caused a yellow and a bunching up of the field. This set the stage for a tremendous shootout at the end and the fans weren't disappointed! Nick Warner came from fourth position to make a last lap daring pass for his 17th win of the season in a Front Wheel Drive. Trailing Warner were Byrd, Hannah Lundy, Jerry Smith and Russell Kirby, Jr.

Donnie Ellis Jr. proved he could intentionally roll a car better than anyone else in the Roll Over contest defeating Matt Jones and Craig Enterkin.

The Herald Bulletin "Paper Drop" newspaper delivery was next with three racers challenging three regular delivery carriers to see who was fastest in delivering the Herald Bulletin into a newspaper tube. Nick Warner made the circuit in an impressive 13.412 seconds defeating Russell Kirby Jr., Dave Carr, Brent Woolard, Jim Warters and Dave Looper in that order.

Up next was the Cork Screw race with the racers required to circle a large tire each lap on their course. Josh Tharp drove a flawless race to capture the win defeating Nick Warner, J.D. Blankenship, Jerry Smith and Casey Davis.

Intermission was next capped off with the wedding of Janet Lee Baker and Tracy Douglas Frye.

It was School Bus Figure 8 time next with two wild features. Corey Elliott held off a hard charging Michael Day to take the win in feature #1. Bub Beachboard, Ranny Hinton and Tim Nickerson rounded out the top five. It was zig-zag city in feature #2 as the crossover was busier than the interstate. Josh Tharp survived to cop the coins defeating Danny Stanley, Basil Stanley, Josh Poore and Dennis Stanley.

It looked a war zone after the Trailer Figure-8 race had been completed as we parts and pieces everywhere. Robert Rabenstein, pulling a trailer with no wheels left on it, was able to pass Jimmy Taylor in the last corner to capture the checker. Following were Taylor, Rick Hollingshead, Jeff Bucher and David Smith to round out the top five.

The Garner's Towing & Recovery Demolition Derby capped off this wild night with fifteen "crashers" in action. Eric Bair finished off Mike Fredricks to claim the title. Jimmy Taylor was third, Larry Staats fourth and Rick Hollingshead fifth.

Anderson Speedway concludes the 60th season on Saturday, October 20 with a huge celebration planned and a great season finale. The largest Fireworks display at the racetrack will take place along with the ThunderCar Enduro, Chappy’s Rent to Own Front Wheel Drive Challenge and Spectator Races.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.