Moyes, Keller and Rose Win on Saturday

Anderson Speedway started the 2008 season with a bang Saturday night with three exciting finishes on the World’s Fastest Quarter Mile.

The Newco Metals Legends led off the evening with Cottontown, Tennessee’s own David Moyes III setting the pace with a lap of 14.075. Thirteen cars started the race and Moyes took home the victory with Kyle Lapier finishing a close second, Sloan Henderson in third, Alex Arelano in fourth and Mark Dietzen in fifth.

Lap 5 saw a pair of Knuckles collide as Tyler took out older brother Brian. Brian would finish last and Tyler came home 9th.

This was also the first race for young rookie Andrea Hans, who finished 11th.

Andy Keller took home a win in the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Figure 8’s. Keller came in second in the race, but won after unofficial winner Brad Brooks failed post race inspection. The pre-race favorite Nick Warner came in second, Donnie Ellis third, Harry Lashure fourth and Jared Keller fifth.

The Big One happened on lap eight with Dennis Farver, Sr. getting t-boned by then leader Ronnie Phipps in the cross over. Farver, Sr. sat in the car for a few minutes then was helped out by track crew members and paramedics. Farver then walked away under his own power.

The main event was the 200 lap Thundercar Enduro. Herb Rose had the fast qualifying lap at a time of 14.899, in a race that started 38 cars. Herb’s son, Ronnie, would have the most to celebrate, taking the checkered flag. After a twenty lap, side by side battle, Ronnie attempted a last lap pass of then leader Johnny Magee in turn three during which Magee spun into the infield grass. Rose finished first, Magee took second with Rob Allman grabbing third, Dustin Burge fourth and Mike Riddle Jr. placing fifth.

Next weekend features a big double header at Anderson Speedway. Saturday, April 5th is Opening Points Night for the Ed Martin SuperTrucks, Immediadent Figure 8’s, Street Stocks and the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pro cars all in action. Sunday, April 6th has the USAC National Midgets and Kenyon Midgets.