Poore, Rose, Burge, Moyes and Riddle Score Feature Victories

Anderson Speedway returned to racing on Saturday, May 31 with Josh Poore winning the Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTruck feature, Ronnie Rose taking the ImmediaDent Figure 8 main and Mike Riddle Jr. returning to the Winnerís Circle in the ImmediaDent Figure 8ís. Other checkered flags were claimed by Travis Burge in ThunderCars and David Moyes lll in Newco Metals Legends.

In the 40-lap Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTruck feature, second-year racer Josh Timmerman charged into the lead. By lap four, Rod Phipps drove underneath Timmerman to grab the top spot with Poore moving into second. Poore and Phipps then began a spirited battle for leadership honors. Poore completed the race-wining pass on the seventh go-around.

Poore led the remainder of the event, but was forced to hold a furious challenge from pointís leader Joe Beaver. Third at the finish was Phipps with Mark Livesay and Jerry Faucett completing the top five. Poore also won the heat race with Beaver setting quick time at 14.016 seconds.

The Street Stock feature started with veteran Bruce McFall taking command of the field with Jon Conklin and Randy Hoppes right behind the early race leader. At the lap 18 mark, while continuing to show the way, McFall experienced tire problems that propelled Conklin into the first position.

Conklin was then forced to fend off challenges from Rich Boyer and Ronnie Rose. With five laps remaining Boyer got loose in turn 2 that allowed Rose and Jake McElfresh move into second and third respectively. Rose then powered around Conklin to score the victory with Conklin grabbing runner-up honors. McElfresh, Bret Miles and Jason Thompson rounded out the top five. Jeff Perry was quick time at 14.172 seconds with Conklin and Hoppes winning heat races.

The KOIL Legends feature began with Kyle Lapier moving into first position with John Robbins in second followed by James Fowlkes and David Moyes. On lap five, Lapier dropped out of the event. Robbins took command, but it lasted just one lap as he drifted high and allowed Fowlkes and Moyes to drive by. On lap 10, Fowlkes and Moyes spin while battling for the lead, handing the lead back to Robbins. Fowlkes and Moyes charged through the field and Moyes made the race-winning pass on Robbins with four laps remaining. Fowlkes placed second with Robbins, Adams Roberts and Chris Weddle completing the top five.

Fowlkes posted the best qualifying time at 13.956 seconds with Robbins and Billy Smith grabbing heat race victories.

In ThunderCars, Rodney Milliner lead at the start with Randy Owen then making an outside pass to grab first spot on lap three. With less than five laps remaining, Travis Burge completed the pass on Owen to grab the lead. A late caution bunched up the field, but Burge was able to hold on to score his first win of the season. Tim Nickerson made a late race pass to place second followed by Sam Folsom, Lonny Burton and early race leader Randy Owen.

Josh Myers and Jamie Williams were heat race winners with Phil Jenkins setting quick time at 15.228 seconds of the 21 cars on hand.

In the final event of the evening, Mike Riddle Jr. made a late race pass on Joe Hart Jr. to score the victory. The 25-lap feature started with Hart getting the jump on Riddle. The two competitors battled for first position for much of the race. On the 10th lap, a collision in the cross over between Curtis Fouts and Myers brought out the yellow flag. When racing resumed, Riddle got around Hart on the 17th lap when Hart slipped up and went high in turn 2. Riddle then pulled away to score the win over Allman, Shawn Cullen, Hart and Ranny Hinton.

Johnny Magee was the top qualifier at 15.188 seconds. Hart and Joe Walters won heat races.

On Saturday afternoon, Anderson Speedway honored the memory of track official Roy Hiatt. A memorial service was held in turn 4, the regular position of Hiatt, who was fatally injured in the 60th Pay Less Little 500 on May 24.

Anderson Speedway returns to racing action on Friday, June 6, with the debut of the WLBC/MAX Friday Night Summer Series. The featured divisions include Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars along with Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives in Amateur and Figure 8ís.

On Saturday, June 7, Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTrucks, Street Stocks, ImmediaDent Figure 8ís and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pro division will be in action.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.