Poore, Rose, Hart and Warner Score Wins

Photo By David Sink

Hot racing action returned to Anderson Speedway on Saturday evening with Josh Poore notching his fourth feature win of the season in the Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTrucks while Ronnie Rose captured a slug fest in the Street Stock headliner. Joe Hart, Jr. hung on to cop his first ImmediaDent Figure 8 of the year and Nick Warner scored the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pro feature win.

In SuperTruck racing, Jerry Faucett led the first 13 circuits before Josh Poore made the move to the outside to grab the point for good. The 2005 Rookie of the Year is making a statement early in the season that he is one of the top contenders for the title in 2008! Trailing Poore to the checkers were Joe Beaver, Mark Livesay, Josh Timmerman and Rod Phipps to round out the top five. Poore was fast timer at 13.875 seconds. Phipps took the heat win.

The Street Stock headliner saw an awesome, four car battle develop for the lead between leader Jacob Owens, Ronnie Rose, Joe Beaver and Randy Hoppes. This foursome came upon two slower cars racing side -by-side and decided to thread the needle three abreast! The first car to force their way through was Rose with a tremendous move! Rose grabbed the lead on lap 15 and went on his first exciting win of the season. Following the race winner were Owens, Beaver, Jeff Perry and Rob Allman. Perry was fast qualifier at 14.038 seconds. Rose and Larry Matillo took heat checkers.

Shawn Cullen and Mike Riddle, Jr. locked into a tremendous duel from the get go in the ImmediaDent Figure 8. Riddle made the move on Cullen on lap 13 on the outside, only to see the two collide. Riddle slammed the wall, eliminating his car, while Cullen was relegated to the pit for the evening. Joe Hart, Jr took over the point , but the man to watch was Johnny Magee. Magee was in fifth at this point but made a sensational run on the outside and just fell short at the checker behind Hart. Following Hart and Magee were Rose, Ranny Hinton, Sr. and Michael Phipps. Magee was fast qualifier at 15.084 while Rose and Michael Phipps were prelim winners.

Kevin Harmon jumped out to the early lead in the Quick Auto Front Wheel drive Pro feature but Nick Warner was not to be denied. Warner took the lead at the 1/2 way point of the 20 lap event and sailed on to his first win of the year. Harmon finished on his bumper trailed by Donnie Ellis, Jr., Jack Leisure and Todd Yarberry. Gary Bragg, Jr. was fastest in time trials at 15.779. Harmon and Yarberry won heats.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Wednesday, June 11 with USAC Regional Midgets, Ford Focus Midgets and Kenyon Midgets.

On Friday, June 13, the WLBC / MAX Friday Night Summer Series will debut with KOIL Legends, ThunderCars, Mini Cups, Thunder Roadsters along with Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

The CRA Street Stocks will be showcased in a 200-lap event on Saturday, June 14. Other divisions that will be in action include Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTrucks and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pros.

The weekend concludes on Sunday, June 15, with a Fatherís Day special of the CRA Super Series Late Models. The racing program will also showcase ImmediaDent Figure 8ís, ThunderCars and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pro division.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.