Huge Crowd for Figure 8 Madness on
July 4th

A huge crowd was on hand for Figure 8 Madness presented by Anderson/Madison County Visitors Bureau and Convention Center at Anderson Speedway on July 4th. The exciting racing program showcased Outlaw Figure 8ís, School Bus Figure 8ís, ImmediaDent Figure 8ís, Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Figure 8ís and Trailer Races.

In the long awaited return of the Outlaw Figure 8ís, RJ Norton scored a flag-to-flag victory in the 50 lap event. Norton was chased for the entire race by Charley Hargraves, but proved to strong as he added another Outlaw Figure 8 victory at Anderson Speedway. Hargraves placed second with Doug Greig third, the final car to complete the full 50 lap distance. Fourth was Jeff Shackleford with Mark Harmon completing the top five. Greig and Donny Scurry were winners of heat races.

Tony Grissom recorded a flag-to-flag victory to earn the winning hardware in the School Bus Figure 8ís. Mike Day finished in the second spot with Basil Stanley, Corey Elliott and Bobbi Jo Elliott filling out the top five.

Scoring his second consecutive victory, Ronnie Phipps collected the victory in the ImmediaDent Figure 8ís. Ranny Hinton led the race for a good portion of the 25-lap event with Phipps driving around Hinton on the 15th circuit. At the finish, Phipps was followed by Ronnie Rose with Hinton crossing the line in third. The remainder of the top five included Jeff Swinford and Joe Hart. Heat race victories went to Swinford and Shawn Cullen.

In the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Figure 8ís, former champion Nick Warner made another late race pass to score a second straight victory. Jerry Baker led the opening 12 circuits with Warner grabbing first position with thee laps remaining in the 15-lap race. Behind Warner and Baker at the finish were Randy Owen, Donnie Ellis Jr. and Andy Keller.

Casey Smith won the thrilling Trailer Race on the Figure 8 course. Several close calls in the eight lap event took place and then the boat on Nathan Burgessí trailer slid off his to the center off the cross over. Smith was able to dodge other competitors and other obstacles en route to the winnerís circle. Eric Blair made a late-race pass for runner-up honors. Nick Warner, Kurt Clevenger and Bill Keihn filled out the top five.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Friday, July 11 with the WLBC/MAX Friday Night Summer Series featuring Newco Metals Legends, Kenyon Midgets, ThunderCars, Mini Cups and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives in Amateur and Figure 8ís.

On Saturday, July 12, CRA Street Stocks, Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTrucks, ImmediaDent Figure 8ís and Quick Auto Front Wheel Pro divisions will in action at the worldís fastest quarter-mile oval.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.