Warner, Roberts, Burton, Phillips and Saxon Find Checkers

The WLBC/MAX Friday Night Summer Series saw a great night of weather and racing as Nick Warner finished first in the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 feature, Adam Roberts won the Newco Metals Legends feature, Lonny Burton won the Thundercar feature, Tony Phillips tasted victory in the Mini-Cup feature and Jeff Saxon brought home a win in the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Amateur Division feature.

Warner saw plenty of action in the crossover as he pulled out to a sizeable lead, with only one caution coming out on the opening lap as a result of a single car accident involving Tony Torres. Andy Keller was Warner's closest competitor, but got caught up in lap traffic and came home second. Ronnie Phipps was third, Donnie Ellis, Jr. fourth and Pete Corsaro rounded out the top five.

In the Newco Metals Legend feature, Hilliard, Ohio's Adam Roberts snared the victory. A caution on the first lap involving Indianapolis', James Edsell and Greenfield's, Doug Dugger forced a complete restart. Ben Tunny of Fairland, Indiana took the early lead and was overtaken by Roberts. Anderson's, John Robbins and Zack Zimmerly of Davidson, North Carolina battled side by side at the finish line for second and third with Zimmerly getting the edge. Mark Deitzen and Chris Weddle rounded out the top five.

Lonny Burton took the lead on lap 6 and wound up in victory lane in the Thundercar feature. The race heated up when Darryl Rogers spun with three laps to go and tightened up Burton and the second place car of Sam Folsom. Folsom gave a hard charge on the inside, but Burton made the outside lane work for him off of turn four to take the victory. Folsom came home second, Travis Burge was third, Tom Tackett nabbed fourth and Stephen Counceller took fifth.

Tim Phillips led wire to wire to take the Mini-Cup feature win. Phillips was never challenged in the race, holding an eight car length lead throughout the race. Geoff Gerline was second for the entire race, with all the action immediately behind him. Chad Varner and Maurice Randall staged a great battle the whole race for third and fourth, with Varner taking the inside lane and passing Randall with two laps to go to finish third. Randall wound up fourth and Courtney Hannah completed the top 5.

Jeff Saxon took the victory in the Quick Auto Front Wheel Amateur Division. Saxon found himself leading on lap 7, passing two cars in the process. Kevin Harmon spent most of the race chasing down Saxon, but came just a few laps short at the end. Chuck Gossett, who led early on, had engine trouble on lap 6 and never recovered. Donnie Ellis, III came home third, Courtney Hannah was fourth and Harry LaShure rounded out the top five.

The MAX/WLBC summer series returns this Friday night featuring the Newco Metals Legends, Kenyon Midgets, ThunderCars and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives in oval and Figure 8 action. On Saturday, the 59th annual Bestway Disposal National Crown will take place featuring the Immediadent Figure 8's along with the Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTrucks and Koil Legend Series. The National Crown is among the nation's longest continuously run stock car events. Gates open at 5:30 on Friday and 5:00 on Saturday with racing at 8:00 on both nights.

Tickets are also available for the Inaugural Anderson 400 Midget Classic on July 26th. Information can be found on the Anderson Speedway website at www.andersonspeedway.com. Tickets may also be purchased at the track's ticket office daily from 10:00 4:00.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.