Warner Captures 59th Best Way Disposal National Crown; Poore, Moyes Also Score Wins

Nick Warner was in the right place at the right time to take advantage of the misfortune of the two leaders to capture the 59th running of the Best Way Disposal National Crown Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

The National Crown is the biggest race of the year for the ImmediaDent Figure 8 Division drivers and paid $1,500 to win.

Former winners in the field included Ronnie Rose, Ronnie Phipps, Mike Riddle Jr. and Rob Allman.

Anderson driver Joe Hart Jr. took the lead at the start and led the first 47 laps of the 75-lap event when he suffered a flat tire and came to a top at the exit of the speedway in Turn one.

On the same lap second place running Ronnie Rose tangled with Ranny Hinton in Turn two and suffered a flat tire and suspension damage.

With the misfortune to Hart and Rose, Hart found himself in the lead chased by Shawn Cullen, Rob Allman and Brad Cain.

Allman, who started 12th in the 17-car starting field, made his way into second place with 15 laps remaining and closed the gap to Warner with five laps remaining. Several times he looked to get inside to make the pass for the lead but was unsuccessful.

For Warner it was the biggest win of his racing career, which includes three titles in the Quick Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 Division. Allman finished second followed by Hart, Cain and Cullen.

Early in the race the best action was a four-car battle for second place between Michael Phipps, Ronnie Phipps, Mike Riddle Jr. and Rose. But a close battle abruptly came to an end on lap 28 when Michael Phipps spun in Turn three and two laps later Ronnie Phipps made contact with the lapped car of Darryl Rogers.

Josh Poore captured the Ed Martin SuperTruck feature taking the lead from Rod Phipps with an outside pass on the front straight on lap 11 and leading the final 29 circuits.

Poore was pressured to the finish by current point's leader Joe Beaver, who attempted an outside pass on the last lap but came up short. Josh Timmerman came home in third.

The lead of the truck race changed three times on the first three laps with pole sitter Tim Broyles and Chris Isenhower taking a turn up front before Phipps took the point.

Tennessee driver David Moyes III continued his mastery of Anderson Speedway capturing the Koil Legends feature by leading the final 14 circuits after getting inside Ohio driver Adam Roberts.

Roberts came back to challenge Moyes but after closing with three laps remaining, fell back and settled for second place. North Carolina driver Zach Zimmerly rounded out the top three.

The inaugural Midget 400 Classic week kicks off on Wednesday, July 23 with USAC Regional Midgets, Ford Focus Midgets and Kenyon Midgets. On Wednesday Night, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing program beginning at 7.

On Friday, qualifying for the inaugural Midget 400 Classic begins at 12:30 p.m. The field will be set that evening with qualifying races. The Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives in Pro and Figure 8ís along with ThunderCars are part of the Friday night racing program that starts at 7 p.m. Admission on Friday night is $5.

The Midget 400 Classic will take place on Saturday, July 26. Watch the nations top Midget Car drivers compete in this first ever race with live pit stops. Gates open at 4 p.m. with the race beginning at approximately 8 p.m. All tickets are reserved at $22.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.