Magee Survives Enduro

Carthage Indiana's, Johnny Magee endured thru a late race tangle to capture the $3,000 to win Thundercar Enduro Saturday evening at Anderson Speedway. Jake Owens snared his first Street Stock feature win of the year while Nick Warner grabbed the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pro headliner and David Moyes, III avoided disaster to come home to victory in the Koil Legend main event.

The Thundercar Enduro drew 43 competitors and was stopped by only a handful of minor incidents. Sam Folsom led the first 9 laps with Ronnie Rose on the point thru lap 21. Brad Cain led briefly for two laps with a duel between Johnny Magee and Jason Thompson beginning on lap 25 with Magee on top. Thompson trapped Magee in traffic on lap 57 to take his only lead and it lasted until a melee on lap 99 when Magee regained the lead. Following a mid race break of 10 minutes, Thompson's car faded and dropped from competition on lap 111. From there on it was all Johnny Magee. With five laps to go, Magee tangled with Tom Tackett, spinning Tackett and almost spinning himself. Magee endured thru the tangle to bring home the win followed by Eddie Wolf, Benny Blevins, Jr; Dustin Burge and Ronnie Rose to round out the top five. Sam Folsom was fast qualifier at 15.143 seconds.

In Street Stock action, Ronnie Rose jumped to the lead from the pole but saw his engine expire on lap 15 vaulting defending track champion Jake Owens to the point. With two laps to go a major tangle happened on the main straightaway with Katie Jackson ending up sideways. She was hit by car 46 driven by Abe Puckett. All drivers were ok however, both cars suffered damage. Owens finished off the dash to the victory defeating Rob Allman, Rich Boyer, Jeff Perry and Randy Hoppes in that order. Allman and Hoppes were heat winners with Boyer the fast timer at 14.068 seconds.

Action continued in the KOIL Legends Series as a major incident down the main straightaway brought the red flag on the first lap. Half of the field was eliminated in a major tangle that saw Corey Smith flip wildly, end over end. All drivers escaped serious injury. The incident eliminated eight cars. An intense five car battle for the lead developed after the race resumed with David Moyes, III able to make a late race pass on Adam Roberts and come home victorious for the fifth time this season. Roberts, Jeremy Johnson, James Fowlkes, III; and point leader John Robbins rounded out the top five.

Roberts and Fowlkes were prelim winners. Johnson was fast qualifier at 14.007 seconds

Nick Warner worked his way through traffic and grabbed the lead mid way thru the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pro main event to sail on to victory. Following Nick to the checker were Donnie Ellis, Jr; Gary Bragg, Sr.; Jeff Thinnes and Rus Humes in that order. Humes and Trevor Abbott were heat winners with Gary Bragg, Sr. fast qualifier at 16.180 seconds.

Preparations are being finalized for the big Anderson 400 weekend this Friday and Saturday night at Anderson Speedway. The WLBC/MAX Friday Night Summer Series continues on Friday featuring the Kenyon Midgets. Saturday is the Anderson 400 featuring the CRA Super Series Late Models in an exciting 300 lap event and the CRA Street Stocks in a 100 lap feature. Advance tickets are available for Saturday night at the Speedway ticket office at a $3 discount for $12.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.