CRA Super Series Late Models and CRA Street Stocks Featured in Saturday's Anderson 400

The CRA Super Series and the CRA Street Stocks will head to Anderson Speedway this Saturday for the Anderson 400, a yearly stock car racing tradition that will see the CRA Super Series in a 300-lap event and the CRA Street Stocks in a 100-lap event. The famous high-banked quarter mile racetrack located in Anderson, Indiana has hosted more CRA Super Series events than any other track since the series first ever event on Saturday, April 26, 1997. Anderson Speedway has had a total of 44 CRA Super Series events to date. Former two time series champion Brian Ross is the all-time series victory leader at Anderson Speedway with nine victories.

The Anderson 300 Presented by Great Deals Coupon Magazine for the CRA Super Series will feature some new procedures for that event that will involve some serious strategy decisions by the competing teams Saturday night. The event will have a 10 minute break at lap 150 were teams will be allowed to work on their cars and change up to four tires if they want. The strategy will be how many tires will they change because the cars will be relined up how they were running at the end of the first 150 laps, but the teams that don’t change tires will be lined up first, then the teams that changed one tire, then teams that changed two tires, then three, then four tires. These halfway break procedures could produce a very interesting second 150 laps as teams will have to decide which strategy will work best for them in trying to get to victory lane.

John VanDoorn got the victory in last years CRA Super Series 250 lap event with the Anderson 400. It was VanDoorn’s first win with the series and the first series win for car owner Tim Steele. VanDoorn went on to win the series 2007 Rookie Of The Year Award and finished second in series Championship points. Former Anderson Speedway Late Model Champion Brian Rievley finished in second, Scott Hantz third, Terry Fisher Jr. fourth and Wisconsin’s Brad Mueller fifth.

Other former series winners at Anderson that are expected to compete Saturday include four time winner Kenny Tweedy, the 1997 series Champion driving this season for Ken Muller. Two-time winners Jeff Lane and Rick Turner will be there, Turner got his second ever series victory in the June 15th series event at Anderson. Two time Series Champion and current series points leader Scott Hantz has one series victory to date at Anderson, he is seeking to get his series record 23rd victory this Saturday, he is currently tied with Ross with 22 series victories all time.

Other drivers expected to compete Saturday with one series victory at Anderson include 1998 series Champion Brian Rievley and former Street Stock Champion at Anderson Speedway and winner of the Anderson 400 in 2001 Bull Baker who has switched to number 15 driving for Jay Seal instead of his familiar number 78 he has campaigned for several seasons with the series. One time series Anderson winner Jim Crabtree Jr. was also expected to compete in Saturday night’s event, but his CRA Super Series car was destroyed in a fire on Friday that burned everything inside Crabtree’s race shop. The team had just left a little earlier in the day for a Super Cup Stock Car Series event in Virginia, luckily none of that equipment was in the shop at the time of the fire.

Other top series regulars expected for Saturday’s event include Boris Jurkovic who is second in series points, leading K & N Filters Rookie Competitor Aaron Pierce a native of Muncie, Jason Dietsch, Terry Fisher Jr., Jason Shively, K & N Filters Rookie Competitor Zach Taylor, JR Roahrig, Sean Matthuis, as well as rookies Robert Maynor, Adam Purdy and Tommy Cook. Part-time competitors Rich Segvich, Josh Bauer, Anderson’s own Donald Karr Jr., and Nick Lay, a former Howe CRA Sportsman competitor are all expected to compete in Saturday night’s event.

The top CRA Street Stock and Anderson Speedway Street Stock drivers will compete in Saturday’s Anderson 100. The CRA sanctioned event will also be a point’s event for the Anderson Street Stocks. Joe Beaver, a multi time Champion at Anderson and two time defending CRA Street Stocks Driver Champion comes into Saturday’s event as the CRA Street Stocks point leader by only eight points over Bret Miles Jr. Leading Rookie competitor Josh Burton is third in points, 38 points behind Miles Jr. Larry Matillo is now in fourth, only two points behind Burton after getting his first ever series victory in the series last event on July 26th at Angola Motor Speedway. Veteran Carl Muffley is only one point behind Matillo in fifth place, 2007 Anderson Street Stock Champion Jake Owens is only seven points behind Muffley in sixth place.

Jeff Perry is currently leading the Anderson Street Stock points by 79 points over second place Rob Allman. Ronnie Rose is in third place, 13 points behind Allman. Katie Jackson is in fourth place in points with Jake McElfresh in fifth place.

Pits will open on Saturday at 1:30pm, practice will begin at 4:30pm, qualifying will begin at 6:45pm. The race program will begin at 8pm with the Anderson 100 for the CRA Street Stocks and will be followed by the Anderson 300 Presented By Great Deals Coupon Magazine.

Advance Adult tickets are $12 and on raceday will be priced at $15. Kids ages 6-12 are $4 with. children five and under get in free The CRA Family Fun Zone will also be at Anderson Speedway on Saturday night with games and prizes for the kids attending the event.

On Friday, August 8, the WLBC / MAX Friday Night Summer Series will be showcased at the world’s fastest quarter-mile oval. Featured divisions include Kenyon Midgets, ThunderCars along with Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives in Amateur and Figure 8’s.

On Friday Night, spectator gates open at 5:30 p.m. with the racing program beginning at 8. Admission is $7 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.