Goff, Rose, Jackson and Riddle Rack Up Wins

Terry Goff notched the UMRA Midget feature win at Anderson Speedway Saturday evening while Ronnie Rose scored the Ed Martin Chevrolet Supertruck main win. Katie Jackson racked up the exciting CRA Street Stock headliner and Mike Riddle, Jr took the ImmediaDent Figure 8 feature checker.

In UMRA Midget action a tremendous battle between Brent Turner, Tate Martz and Terry Goff developed early in the feature event. Turner led from the get-go with Martz making a move to the outside coming out of turn four on lap 8. Martz ran out of real estate when he and Turner collided, sending Martz into the outside wall and flipping down the main straightaway. The red flag flew. Martz was temporarily winded but shook it off and both drivers were ok. Upon the return to green, Terry Goff took control and flew on to the checker for his 103rd career UMRA win defeating Scott Petry, Patrick Wolf, Oogie Goff and Robbie Roland. Martz and Terry Goff were heat winners with Martz fast timer at 12.734 seconds.

Josh Poore led the Ed Martin Chevrolet Supertruck main in the early stages but Ronnie Rose was not to be denied. Rose, the 2006 division champion, made the outside pass and went on to his first feature win of the season. Chasers were Joe Beaver, Poore, Rod Phipps and Josh Timmerman.  Rose also took the heat win with Beaver fast timer at 13.981 seconds.

Some 32 Street Stocks were on hand for a great CRA event! Katie Jackson took advantage of the eight car inversion and a pole position start to drive one of the best races of her 4 year career as the 2007 street stock rookie of the year became the first female feature winner in CRA history! Katie led all 75 laps but had plenty of company the entire way with someone always tapping on her bumper. The only major incident of the race happened on lap 39 when Larry Lathan had an accelerator stick heading into turn #3 and plowed head-on into the safety barriers. He was ok but the car was heavily damaged. In the end Katie Jackson prevailed over the guys defeating her dad Joe Beaver, Bret Miles, Jr; Jeff Perry and Rich Boyer rounding out the top five. Bret Miles, Jr was fast timer at 13.999 seconds.

Mike Riddle, Jr survived a first lap melee in the ImmediaDent Figure 8 which saw Ronnie Rose and Josh Tharp both losing wheels and eliminated. Riddle jumped on the competition but had Ronnie Phipps trying him high and low the entire distance but never finding enough horses to make the pass. At the checker it was Riddle racking up his third win of the year defeating Phipps, Jeff Swinford, Joe Hart, Jr; and Rob Allman in that order. Phipps was the prelim winner with Hart fast qualifier at 15.401 seconds.
Anderson Speedway returns to action on Friday, August 29, with the Newco Metals Labor Day Weekend of racing showcasing Newco Metals Legends, ThunderCars and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives in Amateur and Figure 8 action.

On Saturday, August 30, the Grant Fritz / Greg Dietzen Memorial will take place featuring the Newco Metals Legends. The Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTrucks and ImmediaDent Figure 8ís will also be in action.

The weekend will conclude on Sunday, August 31 with the Night of Thrills. Featured events include School Bus Figure 8ís, Roll Over Contest, Cork Screw Race, Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Amateur and Spectator Races.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.