Moyes, Burton, Saxon and Warner Victorious on Friday Night

David Moyes, III survived the Newco Metals Legends feature to capture the win Friday evening on Newco Metals Weekend during the WLBC/MAX Summer Series at Anderson Speedway while Lonnie Burton had to borrow a car to score the Thundercar main victory. Jeff Saxon sailed to the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Amateur headliner checker and Nick Warner continued his winning ways in the figure 8.

In the Newco Metals Legends attrition ate away at a nice field that started the race. Three tangles with the wall and other competitors in the first 15 laps sent seven racers to the pit area. David Moyes, III scored his sixth win of the season after he made the race winning pass on lap 10. Trailing in the top five were Dylan Ames, Mark Dietzen, Chris Weddle and Cullen Camasta. Alex Kempf and Chris Weddle were heat winners with Moyes fast timer at 14.078 seconds.

Tom Tackett led the first 13 laps of the Thundercar main before his mount failed him vaulting Lonnie Burton to the point. Burton, the current point leader, had to borrow a car to compete as his regular machine is ill. Burton was chased to the checker by Travis Burge, Sam Folsom, Hannah Lundy and Shantell Banks in that order. Tim Nickerson took his first win of the year in the heat with Folsom fast qualifier at 15.130 seconds.

The Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Amateur oval had four different leaders in 20 laps with Jeff Saxon making the outside pass on Casey Davis on lap 14 after a side -by-side dual for three laps with Davis for the lead. Saxon coasted on to feature win #5 of the year defeating Davis, Andy Keller, Kevin Harmon and Tony Torres in that order. Andy Keller took Heat #1 and Ron Phipps took his first career checker in heat #2. Harmon was fast timer at 16.339 after Donnie Ellis III's fast time was disallowed by tech.

In the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 there was tons of excitement at the intersection to keep the fan's attention. It was the Nick Warner show as the defending Champion notched feature win #6 defeating Tony Torres, Donnie Ellis, Jr, Andy Keller and Peter Corsaro in that order.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Saturday, August 30, with the Grant Fritz / Greg Dietzen Memorial will take place featuring the Newco Metals Legends. The Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTrucks and ImmediaDent Figure 8ís will also be in action.

The weekend will conclude on Sunday, August 31 with the Night of Thrills. Featured events include School Bus Figure 8ís, Roll Over Contest, Cork Screw Race, Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Amateur and Spectator Races.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.