Another Thrilling Night of Thrills

The second Night of Thrills was held Sunday evening at Anderson Speedway before a huge crowd and they were not disappointed as Mike Alley and Ricky Tharp were the big winners in the quick Auto front Wheel Drive Amateur features.

Mike Alley sailed to victory in the first Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Amateur headliner taking the lead early and never looking back. Point leader Kevin Harmon, Andy Keller, Ricky Tharp and Harry LaShure rounded out the top five. In feature #2 Tharp made up for lost time as he turned in a dominating performance. And yet, the out come was in question as Nick Warner was able to run down Tharp by the white flag but Tharp was not to be denied the win. Chasers were Warner, Alley, Donnie Ellis, Jr and Robert Kelm in that order, Alley and Jeff Saxon were heat winners.

Donnie Ellis, Jr thrilled the fans with his roll over antics taking home the roll over crown over Kris Farley.

Ricky Tharp captured the exciting corkscrew race that saw Mike Alley catch Tharp at the corkscrew on the last lap and fall just a few feet short of victory. Tharp captured his second checker of the night defeating Alley, Nick Warner, Nick Peters and Dave Powell to round out the top five.

It took three starts but Jake Woessner was able to smoke Jeff Lacaya to capture the Spectator drags as they returned by popular demand.

The always popular school bus figure 8 again thrilled the throng of fans as parts flew and fans gasped as the big monsters hit and banged and nipped and each other. When the checker flew, Mike Day came home with the win defeating Corey Elliott and five other fellow racers.

The final event was a dandy as the trailer racers took to the figure course. Nick Warner jumped to the early lead and thrilled the fans with daring dives through the cross over, trying to knock off some other trailer. Coming for the checkered flag, Warner drove through a huge wooden boat and trailer pulled by Nathan "Moose" Burgess to score an exciting victory. The explosion was dramatic, the boat sailed and the fans cheered their winner Nick Warner! Bob Rabenstein finished 2nd and Dennis Farver, Sr 3rd. It was a thrilling night!.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Saturday, September 6th with a huge program. Featured divisions include Ed Martin Chevrolet SuperTrucks, ImmediaDent Figure 8ís, Street Stocks, Newco Metals Legends and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pro.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.