Tracy Hines Wins USAC National Midget Event; Armstrong, Warner and Tharp Also Victorious

Tracy Hines scored the 100 lap USAC feature for the Mopar National Midgets Saturday evening at Anderson Speedway while Caleb Armstrong grabbed the USAC Kenyon Midget feature victory. Nick Warner snagged the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Pro oval headliner and Ricky Tharp was the figure 8 victor.

Thirty-seven competitors were on hand in the USAC Mopar National Midgets, attempting to get into the 22 car starting field for the 100 lap headliner. Mike Murgoitio jumped on the field early from his pole position following a six car inversion. Murguitio ran a solid race that was slowed five times by yellow. At the halfway point, 16 of the 22 starters were still running and were all on the lead lap. Chris Windom, Bobby East, Darren Hagen and Tracy Hines were locked into a tremendous battle behind Murguitio. East tried to get a good run on Windom on a re-start on lap 51 but ended up spinning shaking up the top 5. Hines moved into second with about 15 laps to go and started to reel in Murguitio. Hines made the race winning pass on lap 90, at the same time that Murguitio's mount failed, sending him to the pit. At the checkers it was Tracy Hines the victor followed by Dakoda Armstrong, Brian Olson, Darren Hagen and Kody Swanson to round out the top five.

Levi Jones, Chad Boat, Zach Schiff and Swanson were heat winners with Hagen the semi winner and fast timer at 11.513 seconds

Caleb Armstrong captured the USAC Kenyon Midget main event leading flag to flag. Armstrong now leads the point s by 1 point over Drew Charlson with one event left at Anderson Speedway on October 5th. Trailing Armstrong to the checkers were Dalton Armstrong, Dillon Welch, Drew Charlson and Andrew Elson to round out the top five. Caleb Armstrong also won the heat with Welch fast qualifier at 12.629 seconds.

In the Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives, Nick Warner cruised from the back of an entirely inverted field to capture the Pro feature defeating point leader Randy Hoppes, Todd Yarberry, Josh Tharp and Ricky Tharp. Ray Zirkle and Josh Tharp took the heat wins with Warner the fast qualifier at 16.188. Ricky Tharp bagged the exciting Figure 8 and survived a lot crossover close calls as he led flag to flag to defeat Josh Tharp, Andy Keller, Peter Corsaro and Dennis Farver, Sr in that order.

Anderson Speedway returns to action on Friday, September 19 with the Season Championships for the WBLC / MAX Friday Night Summer Series. Featured divisions include Newco Metals legends, ThunderCars, Mini Cups and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drives in Amateur and Figure 8ís. On Saturday, September 20th, Family Fun Night showcases Mini Cups, Ford Focus Midgets, Powder Puff Front Wheel Drives, Kids Bicycle Races and Motorcycle Stunt Show.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at
(765) 642-0206.