Four Figure 8 Legends to Return October 11th

By David Sink

Anderson Speedway officials today announced that four former Outlaw Figure 8 legends will return to Anderson Speedway October 11 to help promote the final Night Of Thrills event for the season.

Kenny St. John, Billy Simmons, Joe McKinney, and Bruce Tunney will serve as honorary grand marshals for the evening as part of the Outlaw Figure 8 portion of the event. Each of these drivers have enjoyed tremendous success racing Open Competition Figure 8 events over the years at Anderson Speedway. Their return will highlight an already exciting program of events planned including: Outlaw Figure 8's, School Bus Figure 8's, roll over contest, and a demolition derby.

St. John dominated Open Competition Figure 8 racing at Anderson Speedway in the first few years the speedway debuted this new style of figure 8 racing in 1980. St. John is second on the all time win list with 8 wins trailing only RJ Norton's 10 career wins at Anderson Speedway. He also claimed the first five Red, White, and Blue championships before he made his final start at Anderson Speedway on Aug. 30, 1986.

Simmons in his familiar #771 machine has five career wins as well as three Red, White, and Blue championships. But perhaps Simmons is best remembered for his horrific cross over crash of 1984. Long time Anderson Speedway Figure 8 fans to this day insist his hit in the cross over was the most horrific Figure 8 crash in speedway history. This accident didn't slow Simmons down as most of his success here occurred in the years to follow.

McKinney enjoyed most of his success in the years following the Red, White, and Blue series. McKinney won his first Open Competition event 1988 and in a five year period claimed an incredible seven events and now resides in fourth place on the all time Open Competition winners list here at Anderson Speedway.

Tunney is the only active driver of the four. Although it has been several years since Tunney has competed at Anderson Speedway his credentials are very impressive. Tunney was the final Red, White, and Blue series champion in 1988. Tunney is also tied for fifth with five career wins on the all time list with perhaps a few more opportunities to add to his total in the years to come.

Each of these legends will be on hand to sign autographs for fans prior to the racing action on this historic night. Other events they will participate in include: post race victory lane photos and public address interviews throughout the night. A special souvenir program is planned for the event so fans will have an opportunity to secure an autograph from each of these honorary grand marshals.