St. John Unable to Attend Night of Thrills, Lee to Return

Anderson Speedway officials announced today that due to another obligation Kenny St. John will be unable to serve as a Grand Marshall for the October 11 Night Of Thrills event. But, to help honor former Legends of Outlaw Figure racing at Anderson Speedway Duane Lee will make his first appearance at speedway since his driving days for the second appearance of the year for the Outlaw Figure 8's October 11.

Lee, along with Billy Simmons, Joe McKinney, and Bruce Tunny will serve as honorary grand marshalls for the evening as part of the Outlaw Figure 8 portion of the event. Each of these drivers have enjoyed tremendous success racing Open Competition Figure 8 events over the years at Anderson Speedway. Their return will highlight an already exciting program of events planned including Woods Landscaping Outlaw Figure 8's, Pepsi School Bus Figure 8's, Roll Over contest, Culvers Trailer Race, Demolition Derby and Quick Auto Front Wheel Drive Oval.

Lee was no stranger to the high banks of Anderson Speedway during the 1990's. One of the true nice guys of the sport Lee captured three Figure 8 Challenge events as well as a lone Open Competition Figure 8 win on June 5, 1993. All four of Lee's wins came in a two - year span between1992-1993. He currently ranks 7th on the all-time Anderson Speedway Outlaw Figure 8 winners list.

Simmons in his familiar #771 machine has five career wins as well as three Red, White, and Blue championships. But perhaps Simmons is best remembered for his horrific cross over crash of 1984. Long time Anderson Speedway Figure 8 fans to this day insist his hit in the cross over was the most violent Figure 8 crash in speedway history. This accident didn't slow Simmons down as most of his success here occurred in the years to follow.

McKinney enjoyed most of his success in the years following the Red, White, and Blue series. McKinney won his first Open Competition event 1988 and in a five year period claimed an incredible seven events and now resides in fourth place on the all time Open Competition winners list here at Anderson Speedway.

Tunny is the only active driver of the four. Although it has been several years since Tuny has competed at Anderson Speedway his credentials are very impressive. Tunney was the final Red, White, and Blue series champion in 1988. Tunny is also tied for fifth with five career wins on the all time list with perhaps a few more opportunities to add to his total in the years to come.

Each of these legends will be on hand to sign autographs for fans prior to the racing action on this historic night. Other events they will participate in include post-race winner’s circle photos and public address interviews throughout the night. A special souvenir program is planned for the event so fans will have an opportunity to secure an autograph from each of these honorary grand marshals.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.