Magee Dominates Enduro; Keller Captures FWD Feature

Carthage’s Johnny Magee dominated the Thunder Car 200 Enduro Friday at Anderson Speedway to make it three consecutive wins in the long distance events.

Magee led the final 153 laps to win the Thunder Car Enduro 200 in impressive fashion at Anderson Speedway on Friday. There was only one other car on the lead lap when the checkers waved.

Magee won by more than half a lap over Rod Phipps, the only other driver on the lead lap, to take home the $3,000 first place money.

Early in the race Magee and Anderson’s Nick Warner put on a spirited battle for the lead while working their way through lapped traffic. The two swapped the lead four times in 20 laps.

Warner took the lead at the start from the outside of the front row with Kevin Claborn moving into the second spot when fast qualifier Rob Allman spun on the back straight on the opening lap.

Claborn took the lead on the eighth circuit by using the outside line to get around Warner with Rickie Tharp running third.

Warner took the lead from Claborn on lap 26 with a move down the back straight. By lap 30 it was Warner chased by Magee with Rod Phipps moved up to the third spot when Claborn pitted with a mechanical problem.

Magee grabbed the lead for the first time on lap 32 but Warner took it back on lap 35 as the two leaders worked their way through traffic. Magee took the lead for the final time on lap 47 with an outside pass coming off the second corner in traffic.

Magee was followed by Phipps, Warner, Rob Allman, who recovered from the first lap spin to finish two laps down, and Josh Poore rounding out the top five.

“A lot of work went into the car,” Magee said following the win.
Phipps said his car was consistent throughout the race and couldn’t gain any ground on Magee.

“There was a lot of lapped traffic,” Warner said of the close racing with Magee in the first 50 laps of the race.

After the halfway break Ronnie Rose didn’t return to competition after running fourth.

The race was only stopped five times for on-track incidents and the final 100 laps were run without interruption.
Finishing sixth through tenth were Eddie Wolf, Jeff Swinford, Marshal Thompson, Tharp and Randy Hoppes.

Anderson’s Andy Keller used an inside pass entering Turn one to grab the lead from Travis Burge and went on to capture the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 race. The defending champion claimed his first feature win of 2009.

Burge, who lead the first seven laps was passed on the final lap by both Elliott McKinney and Nick Warner and had to settle for fourth with Bill Leisure claiming the fifth spot.
Keller and Donnie Ellis Jr. scored heat race wins. Ellis was running third in the feature when he was forced to the pits with an apparent mechanical failure.

On Saturday night, the always entertaining Night of Thrills will feature an action packed lineup headlined by the School Bus Figure 8’s. Other exciting events include Roll-Over Contest, Culver’s Trailer Race, Cork Screw Race, Mini Van Race and Front Wheel Drives Oval.

On Saturday Night, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the thrills beginning at 7. Admission is $10 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway call (765) 642-0206.