Decaire Gets Winged Sprint Win; Swinford, Bragg Score Victories

Florida’s Troy DeCaire took advantage of the inversion following qualifying to lead all 30 laps to capture the HOSS winged sprint feature at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.
The invert of the top 8 qualifiers but DeCaire on the outside of the front row and he was chased for the entire 30 laps by Tim Cox. The driver on the move was fast qualifier Jimmy McCune who drove to a third place finish followed by Eddie Kelly and Chris Neuenschwander.

The race was slowed with six laps remaining for debris on the track but DeCaire said it actually helped the performance of his Mike Blake owned sprint car.

“The car was getting tight,” DeCaire. “I was hoping we would get a caution a little earlier to cool down the tires.”

Heat winners in the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series were fast qualifier McCune, Cox and getting his first win ever Neuenschwander. In the third heat Brandon Whited was blocked several times by San Davis while the two were battling for the second position. On the fourth lap Davis and Whited touched wheels with Whited making contact with the outside retaining wall.

Jeff Swinford captured the win in the ImmediaDent Figure-8 feature that had a little bit of everything in it.

Swinford inherited the lead on lap 3 when leader Rickie Tharp spun coming off turn two and Ronnie Phipps Sr. didn’t hold onto the top spot for one corner tangling with Josh Tharp and Josh Poore.

On the restart Ronnie Rose was battling with Johnny Magee for third spot in turn two when the two got together resulting in a flat tire for Magee.

Swinford dominated the remainder of the race with Ranny Hinton Sr. and Tharp taking the third spot.

Heat wins were recorded by Anderson’s Rose and Noblesville‘s Swinford. Magee was the fast qualifier with a time of 19.97 seconds.

Kokomo’s Gary Bragg Jr. made it a clean sweep in Front Wheel Drive competition setting fast time, winning a heat race and captured the feature event.

Bragg inherited the win when Jack Leisure was black-flagged for running laps quicker than he qualified. Bragg was chased by teammate Trevor Abbott and Gary Bragg after nine laps. On the tenth circuit Abbott and Bragg tangled with Abbott hitting the inside retaining wall and Bragg losing two positions.

At the finish Bragg Jr. was followed across the finish line by Jeff Saxon, Kevin Harmon, Bragg and Bill Leisure.
Bragg Jr. and Anderson’s Aaron Jones were winners in the Front Wheel Drive Division on the oval. It was Jones first win of the year. Bragg was the fast qualifier among 28 cars turning a lap at 15.963 seconds.

It was a Goff Racing team parade in the 25-lap feature for the UMRA Midgets with Terry Goff leading a sweep of the top four positions.

Goff moved from the sixth starting spot to the lead in two laps with an inside pass of Oogie Goff. From there he led three teammates to the checkered flag with Ron Combs finishing fifth.

Brad Armstrong briefly broke up the Goff parade by moving into the fourth position after ten laps but he was forced from the competition with a flat tire.

It marked the third consecutive time Terry Goff has won at Anderson Speedway and marked the 106th feature win of his career. Oogie Goff finished second followed by Brett Turner, Trent Henderson and Combs.

United Midget Racing Association heat winners were Goff, the fast qualifier, Zach Cougill and Brent Turner.

On the opening lap of the first heat Travis Stickles drifted high in the first corner and collected Oogie Goff, neither driver was able to continue. In the second heat Kevin Alford appeared to have a suspension piece fall on the five lap and made heavy contact with the turn four wall while running third.

Next Saturday the Champion Racing Association’s Street Stock Division will be in action at Anderson Speedway in a 300 lap event. It will be the longest race of the season for the Street Stock competitors. The Thunder Cars will also be in action. Racing starts at 8 p.m.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway call (765) 642-0206.