Hoppes, Rose, Leisure, Warner and Phillips Notched Wins

Randy Hoppes, Ronnie Rose, Jack Leisure, Nick Warner and Tim Phillips all added another notch to the win column at Anderson Speedway in the MAX Saturday Night Summer Series as they captured their respective feature events.

Randy Hoppes jumped into the lead from the outside pole position in the Street Stock feature and then had to fight off Rich Boyer to win his second feature of the season on his 38th birthday. Hoppes and Boyer outdistanced Rob Allman, Kyle Flynn and Bruce McFall to round out the top five. Allman captured the heat and Flynn was fast qualifier at 14.132 seconds.

The WMDH Thundercar headliner saw quite a battle develop between Rob Allman, Rod Phipps and Ronnie Rose. Allman and Nick Warner were locked in a side by side slug fest for the lead the first 9 circuits before coming together, sending Warner sailing through the infield. Both were sent to the tail for this yellow flag incident.

Rod Phipps, being the new leader received immediate pressure from Ronnie Rose with Rose nudging by Phipps on lap 17 for the race winning pass. Rose cruised onto his first win of the year over Phipps, Allman, Randy Hoppes and Hannah Lundy. Phipps and Rose were prelim winners and Allman fast timer at 14.831 seconds.

"Bad Jack" Leisure showed how bad he was in the Front Wheel Drive main by fending off challenges from Kevin Harmon and Gary Bragg, Jr to capture his first feature checker of 2009. Harmon was chasing Leisure side by side when he was body slammed by a slower car with 3 laps to go. That slowed Harman down just enough to turn Leisure loose for the win. Harman wound up runner up trailed by Bragg, Jr; Jeff Saxon and Gary Bragg, Sr to round out the top five. Nick Warner took heat #1 but was d.q.'d in tech with Saxon claiming the win. Bragg, Jr took the other heat with Leisure fast qualifier at 15.813 seconds.

Three time FWD figure 8 champion Nick Warner wasted little time as he jumped into the lead on lap four and then masterfully maneuvered the crossover course to record his third consecutive win of the season. Bill Leisure, Donnie Ellis, Jr; Andy Keller and Elliott McKinney rounded out the top five. Keller and McKinney were heat winners with Warner fast qualifier with a new course record of 20.800 seconds eclipsing his old record of 20.817 set June 13th.

The Central Indiana Mini Cups were also on hand with Tim Phillips taking the lead for good on lap 8 of the 25 lap main event. Rounding out the top five were Tyler Miniz, Morgan Baird, Scott Swem and Charles Colbert. Phillips and Freeman Hochstetler were prelim winners and Phillips fast timer at 15.264 seconds.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, July 18 when the 60th Best Way Disposal National Crown will showcase the ImmediaDent Figure 8’s. Also on the schedule will include the Street Stocks and Front Wheel Drive Oval divisions.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway call (765) 642-0206.