Redbud 300 to Salute Heritage of ASA Racing Where it All Began

NASCAR Driver Kyle Busch to Compete in the CRA Super Series Sanctioned Event

Anderson Speedway has always been considered the birthplace of the American Speed Association. The days of Bob Senneker, Mike Eddy, Dick Trickle, Mark Martin and Rusty Wallace doing battle at the tight, high-banked quarter-mile oval are legendary. Now officials are celebrating ASA’s heritage by bringing back the historic Redbud 300 race on Monday, July 27th, at Anderson Speedway.

“There seems to be a tremendous interest in this race,” said Rick Dawson, promoter of Anderson Speedway. “It is almost like the perfect storm, as we have a NASCAR star coming to town; we have the CRA Series coming; we have resurrected the historic Redbud 300, and we have the added ASA flavor.”

That NASCAR star is none other than phenom Kyle Busch, who won 21 races between the Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Camping World Truck Series in 2008 and has already won in each series again this year. He will bring his KBM Super Late Model team to Anderson for the Redbud 300.

“I look forward to anytime I get to run the Late Model, but especially this race,” said Busch. “I know the town of Anderson has been down on its luck, so hopefully we can give the city something to smile about. I know it’s a tough track and it’s a tough series we will be competing in.”

“Kyle is huge,” added Dawson. “Not only is he probably one of the most gifted drivers in racing today, his persona endears itself to our fans. The city is anxiously looking forward to his arrival. And I believe all the drivers step up their efforts an additional notch when they compete with a driver of Kyle's caliber.”

The event is sanctioned by the CRA Super Series, but the Redbud 300 actually began in 1967. The earliest recorded results from the speedway archives are from 1974, when one Tiny Lund won the event. In the ‘90’s the event became a 400-lap race, known as the Anderson 400. The last ASA sanctioned race was 1999; Georgia short track veteran Mike Miller won, 2-time ASA champ Gary St. Amant won the pole, and three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champ Jimmie Johnson started tenth and finished 16th.

“Anderson Speedway is basically considered the birthplace of ASA and the CRA Super Series,” continued Dawson. “There were many great ASA races here, and our fans have wanted this nostalgic event for many years. Hopefully we will build on it for future years to make it an annual reunion event.

“We will have an area set up under our huge hospitality tent for everyone to meet and talk about old times and great races to come. Ironically, the big tent is the same one ASA used at its races years ago.”

CRA Super Series point’s leader Johnny Van Doorn tops a strong group of series drivers entered for Monday’s event. Van Doorn picked up the victory in the series April 11th event at Anderson. It was the first victory for Kaos Motorsports, Johnny’s new team for the 2009 season. Van Doorn also picked up a win at Salem Speedway on June 27th, he is the only driver with more than one win so far in 2009.

2008 series Rookie of the Year Aaron Pierce comes into Monday’s event second in points, 41 points behind VanDoorn. Pierce is three points ahead of three-time series Champion Scott Hantz in third, Hantz was tied with VanDoorn for the series points lead going into the series last event on July 12th at Plymouth Speedway, but Hantz crashed hard into the turn four wall after contact with Eddie Hoffman, giving Hantz his first DNF in two years. Rick Turner is currently fourth in series points followed by Jason Shively and Terry Fisher Jr. who are tied for fifth place. All the drivers in the top five in points are entered for Monday’s event.

Advance tickets for the Redbud 300 presented by Great Deals at Anderson Speedway on Monday, July 27th, are available now. Tickets can also be purchased on race day at the track.