McCune Gets Winged Sprint Win; Leisure, Cullen Score Victories

Ohio driver Jimmy McCune took advantage of misfortune for points leader Tim Cox to win the Hoosier Outlaw Winged Sprint feature Saturday at Anderson Speedway.

Cox grabbed the lead with an inside pass of Kyle Flint on lap 21 entering turn three and brought McCune along with him. While Cox and McCune were pulling away from Flint they started encountering lapped traffic.

Desire struck for Cox on lap 26 on the back straight when he was caught up in a four car-accident involving Dave Bumgardner, Chris Jagger Jr. and Zack Gibson.

From there McCune pulled away to win by 3.345 seconds over Sondi Eden, Flint, Hank Lower and Chris Neuenswander. Lower gained two spots after the restart.

Frankton’s Mark Hall won the first heat chased by fast qualifier Jimmy McCune with Chris Neuenswander coming home in third. Michigan’s Tim Cox captured the second heat race passing Tom Paterson with three laps remaining with Jerry Caryer taking third. Tom Tolbert was victorious in the third heat with Dave Bumgardner and Anderson’s Jim Sheets rounding out the top three.

Anderson’s Jack Leisure made it a clean sweep in Front Wheen Drive action on the oval by setting quick time, capturing a heat race and then capturing the feature.
Kevin Harmon set the early pace but Leisure was able to make the pass with an inside move entering Turn three.

A caution flag on lap 12 wiped out a big lead for Leisure, but he went on to capture his second win of the year. Jeff Saxon and Gary Bragg Jr. passed Harmon on lap 16 and lap 17 to finish second and third. Harmon finished fourth followed by Frank Gasho.

Fast qualifier Jack Leisure, Jeff Saxon were respective heat winners in the Front Wheel Drive competition on the oval.

Anderson’s Shawn Cullen led all 25 laps to capture the ImmediaDent Figure 8 feature win chased the entire distance by Jeff Swinford and Johnny Magee. Cullen never made a wrong move in capturing his first feature win of the season.
Josh Tharp and Rickie Tharp rounded out the top five.

ImmediaDent Figure 8 heat wins went to Anderson’ Ranny Hinton Sr. and Noblesville driver Josh Tharp. Carthage driver Johnny Magee was the fast qualifier with a lap time of 20.009 seconds.

Warner dominated leading all 15 laps to capture the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 feature with Bill Leisure the only driver to stay close through two restarts. There was a good battle for the third position between Elliott McKinney and Jared Keller with McKinney getting the best of the fight with Harry LaShure finishing fifth. It was Warner’s fifth consecutive feature win in the division.

The race was stopped on lap four when David Powell and Jerry Dane made contact in the crossover. A caution flag slowed action on lap 6 when Ray Zirkle lost a wheel in Turn two.
Nick Warner and Bill Leisure were heat winners in the Front Wheel Drive Figure-8 competition. Warner was fast qualifier turning a lap at 21.07 seconds.
Five divisions will be competing at Anderson Speedway next Saturday headed by the Champion Racing Association Street Stocks, WMDH Thunder Cars, the Front Wheel Drive division on the oval and Figure-8, Legends and Thunder Roadsters. Racing action starts at 8 p.m.